Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Kossuth-Winnebego titleholders crowned

Bortvit is first runner-up for top crown

September 5, 2012
Estherville Daily News

BURT - The Miss Kossuth-Winnebago Scholarship Program crowned their 2012 titleholders this past Saturday at the Burt Activity Complex. Miss Kossuth-Winnebago 2012 is Hailey Huey.

She is the recipient of a $750 scholarship from the Miss Kossuth-Winnebago Scholarship Board and a $50 Scholarship from Cliff and Phyllis VanBerkum.

Hailey is the 20-year-old daughter of Dustin and Shannon Huey of Clear Lake. She is a junior at the University of Iowa. First runner-up and the recipient of a $300 scholarship was Brittany Bortvit. Brittany is the 19-year-old daughter of Darryl and Sheila Bortvit of Estherville. She is a freshman at Morningside College.

Article Photos

Crowned this past weekend in Burt were, from left, Jr. Miss Kossuth Winnebago Alexa Springer; Miss Kossuth-Winnebago Hailey Huey; Mis Kossuth-Winnebago Outstanding Teen Alyssa Fothergill and Li’l Miss Kossuth Winnebago Isabella Clabaugh.
Photo submitted

Miss Kossuth-Winnebago's Outstanding Teen 2012 is Alyssa Fothergill. Alyssa is the 14-year-old daughter of Kurt and Lydia Fothergill of Fenton. She is a freshman at North Union High School.

Jr. Miss Kossuth-Winnebago is Alexa Springer. Alexa is the 9-year-old daughter of Mike and Deb Springer of Greattinger. Alexa is in the fourth grade at Greattinger-Terril.

Li'l Miss Kossuth-Winnebago is Isabella Clabaugh. Isabella is the 9-year-old daughter of Casey and Amy Clabaugh of Clear Lake. Isabella is a fourth grader at Clear Creek Elementary. First runner-up for Li'l Miss Kossuth-Winnebago was Jenessa Ehmen. Jenessa is the 8-year-old daughter of Paul and Jan Ehmen of Cylinder. Jenessa is in the third grade at North Union Elementary at Sentral.

Other award recipients at the Miss Kossuth-Winnebago Scholarship Pageant were:

Miss Contestants: Hailey Huey; Overall Talent, Overall Physical Fitness in Swimsuit and Miss/Teen Photogenic Winner. Brittany Bortvit: Spirit Award (formally known as Miss Congeniality). Heidi Nyhus of Forest City: People's Choice.

Outstanding Teen Contestants: Amanda Myers of Charter Oak: Overall Talent, Spirit Award and People's Choice.

Li'l Miss Contestants: Janessa Ehmen; People's Choice.

Princesses: Leah Reinhart of Fenton: Youth Photogenic Winner.

The Miss Kossuth-Winnebago Scholarship Program is a preliminary pageant to Miss Iowa, Miss America & Miss America's Outstanding Teen Pageants. The Miss America Organization is the largest provider of scholarships to young women. Contestants should live, work or attend school in Iowa and be between ages 6-24.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web