Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Candidates nominated for Extension Council

October 17, 2012
Estherville Daily News

Six Emmet County residents have been nominated for the four council member four-year terms on the county extension council by the council's nominating committee. Their names will appear on the Nov. 6, 2012, general election ballot.

Nominating committee chair Jeanne Handeland, of Wallingford announced the candidates. They include current member Keith Richard, Estherville; Brent Baddeley, Gruver; Athlyn Black, Ringsted, Bruce Chrestiansen, Estherville, Jerome Schacherer, Estherville; and David Solberg, Ringsted.

Council members whose terms expire at the end of this year are David Enerson, Amy Lowe, Ron Menendez and Keith Richard all of Estherville. Enerson, Lowe and Menendez are not seeking re-election, said Bryan Whaley, Regional Director for Emmet County Extension and Outreach.

To complete the nomination process, the candidates who have agreed to run must have filed nomination papers with the county auditor by 5 p.m. on Aug. 29, 2012. Additionally, individuals who were not nominated had the opportunity to file petitions containing the names of 25 registered voters to have their names placed on the ballot. Petition forms were available at the county auditor's office and at the county extension office.

The Extension Council is the county governing body for Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Council members hire county staff, manage the county extension budget and help determine programming.

"As an extension council member you represent your county in a partnership with Iowa State University; it's a good way to give back to your community," said Terry Maloy, director of Iowa Association of County Extension Councils. "Through interactions with ISU Extension and Outreach staff, extension councils provide research based educational programs that are valuable to county residents."

County councils contribute to a unique attribute of Extension and Outreach being present when needs arise and staying for the long haul. Council members and some 17,000 volunteers work with Extension and Outreach to increase the staying power. Through partnerships, they provide resources, research and education to assist Iowans, Whaley said.

The nine-member council in Emmet County includes five members who were elected to four-year terms in 2010 and will continue to serve until the end of 2014. They are Elaine Prust, Nancy Rosburg, Aaron Ruschy, Diane Tromblay, all of Estherville and Teresa Olson, Wallingford.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web