Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

School election nears

August 9, 2013
By David Swartz - Managing Editor , Estherville News

Area school districts will have a couple contested races for the Tuesday, Sept. 10 school board election. Candidates completed filing this week.

The Estherville Lincoln Central School District is in the process moving from a seven- member board to a five-member board. Of the three at-large seats set to expire this year, only one will be up for election. School board president Jodi Greig is running unopposed for that seat.

Two candidates have filed to fill a vacancy on the board created by the pending resignation of Don Schiltz. The candidates are current board members Michelle McCoy and Duane Schnell. The winner will serve the remainder of Schiltz term, which will expire in 2015.

Four candidates have filed for the three positions up for election on the Armstrong-Ringsted School Board.

In District 3, incumbent Jim Boyer is being challenged by Travis Nielson. Incumbent Jen Von Bank is running unopposed for the at-large position and incumbent Karen Ann Thackery is unopposed for the District 2 seat.

For the Graettinger-Terril School District, incumbents Mathew Hanson of Terril and Kyle Norris of Graettinger are both running unopposed for two seats.

The Ruthven-Ayrshire School District has three seats available with only two candidates who have registered. Incumbent Susan Sikora of Ruthven is seeking re-election. Darin Malm of Ruthven is seeking the other slot. Incumbents Tammy Chapman and Barry Fischer are not seeking re-election.

R-A voters also will have two public measures on the ballot-one for the instructional support levy and the second for the physical plant and equipment levy.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web