Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Titans advance three

Gibson, McGrauth, Thompson win

February 14, 2014
By David Swartz - Managing Editor , Estherville News

MILFORD - Three Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire wrestlers won sectional titles on Saturday to advance the district tournament at Sibley-Ocheyedan this Saturday.

The Titans finished tied for fourth overall with 149 points. Central Lyon/George-Little Rock won with 181 points followed by Alta-Aurelia with 162, Sibley-Ocheyedan with 157, GT/RA and Okoboji with 149, Emmetsburg with 119.5, West Lyon with 116 and Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn with 86.

Ty Gibson (138), Matt McGrauth (170) and Cody Thompson (285) all won their brackets.

Gibson had a first-round bye and then pinned Emmetsburg's Chris VanHuevelen in 1:11. In the final, Gibson faced S-O's Garrett Saylar and won 9-3.

McGrauth started the day by pinning HMS' Michael Dau in 3 minutes and then won 14-7 over West Lyon's Derek Debbeldee to reach the finals. IN the finals, he edged CL/GLR's Zach Fugitt 5-4.

Thompson had a first-round bye and then pinned Alta-Aurelia's Neal Felton in 1 minute. In the finals, he pinned CL/GLR's Nolan Geerdes in 3:37.

Placing third for the Titans were Tyler Hoffman (152), Hunter Brown (160) and Kyle Long.

Hoffman lost to CL/GLR's Brent Klingenberg by fall in 3:59. In the consolation, he pinned Alta-Aurelia's Junior Molina in 2:55, but Hoffman did not get a wrestleback as Klingenberg lost in the 152-pound final.

Brown actually earned a wrestleback after defeating Emmetsburg's Joe Schmidt 17-14 in the third-place match. But Brown lost by fall to Okoboji's Jordan Hanna in 3:19 in the wrestleback.

Long lost his semifinal match by fall to S-O's Devin Hoekstra in 14 seconds. Long pinned West Lyon's Cody Doherty in 3:42 in the third-place match, but he also did not get a wrestleback.

Placing fourth was Alex Hoffman (132). Cody Marlow (106), Sam George (120), Beau Schany (126), Jake Wegner (145), Kodi Fergeson (182) and Nate Harris (195) all placed sixth for the Titans.

Here is a look at the matchups for each of the GT/RA wrestlers competing in Saturday's Class 1A District match at Sibley-Ocheyedan.

138 pounds: Ty Gibson, GT/RA, 34-5 vs. Dylan Blinde, Akron-Westfield 31-7; Derek Erdman, MMC, 35-6, vs. Garrett Sayler, Sibley-Ocheyedan, 39-10

170 pounds: Matt McGrauth, GT/RA 22-9, vs. Reed Mitchell, Woodbury Central, Moville, 16-8; Brandon Thompson, Lawton-Bronson, 22-8 vs. Zach Fugitt, CL/GLR, 27-15

285 pounds: Cody Thomapson, GT/RA, 39-2 vs. Tyler Schuck, MMC, 26-9; Landan Paulsen, Woodbury Central, Moville, 28-0 vs. Nolan Geerdes, CL/GLR, 32-7



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web