Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | Home RSS

Reynolds, King and Gassman are all winners

Election features close races for governor, 4th District Congressional

November 9, 2018
Amy H. Peterson - Staff Writer ( , Estherville News

Emmet County voters cast 3,797 ballots for a 55.69 percent turnout on Tuesday.

The state of Iowa sent Gov. Kim Reynolds to a full term leading the state, defeating Democratic challenger Fred Hubbell with 50.42 percent of the vote compared to 47.41 percent

In Emmet County, Reynolds picked up 61 percent of the vote to Fred Hubbell's 37 percent. Libertarian candidate Jake Porter picked up 61 votes and no-party candidate Gary Siegwarth had 25 votes.

Reynolds assumed the governorship in 2017 when Terry Branstad was appointed to be the United States Ambassador to China. She is the first female governor of the state.

The fourth district congressional race was close until the final minutes of total counting. Democratic challenger JD Scholten was ahead for much of the evening's counting, but incumbent Steve King edged out Scholten across the district by three percent. In Emmet County, King received 1,877 votes and Scholten 1,738. Libertarian candidate Charles Aldrich received 62 votes and no-party candidate Edward Peterson received 34.

Tedd Gassman sought a third term as state representative and received it with 59 percent of the votes in Emmet County totaling 2,164. Deb Jensen of Forest City spent a considerable amount of time in Emmet County since last summer, as Emmet is the most bipartisan county in Iowa's seventh House district. Jensen received 41 percent of the votes with 1,515.

For the other two counties in the district, Gassman received 2,499 votes in Kossuth County to Jensen's 1,747, and in Winnebago County, the closest outcome, Gassman received 2,465 votes to Jensen's 2,120.

In other state races, Mike Naig of Cylinder retained his seat as Iowa Secretary of Agriculture over Tim Gannon almost two to one. Longtime attorney general Tom Miller beat Libertarian challenger Marco Battaglia with the Republican party not running a candidate this year.

Paul Pate handily retained his seat as Iowa Secretary of State despite a well-publicized challenge from Democrat Deidra DeJear, who campaigned alongside Scholten and some Democrats from the national stage this fall.

Rob Sand beat Republican Mary Mosiman and Libertarian Fred Perryman for Auditor of State, and Michael L. Fitzgerald retained his post as Treasurer of State.

Nationwide, the Democratic party took over the House of Representatives, including flips in two Iowa races: Abby Finkenauer beat incumbent Rod Blum by picking up just three counties in the First District. Finkenauer, at age 29, is tied with a New York congresswoman for youngest woman ever elected to the U.S. Congress. Cindy Axne beat out incumbent David Young along with four other challengers for the Third District. With Dave Loebsack retaining his seat in the second district, Iowa has flipped to blue in three of four districts.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web