homepage logo

ELC Varsity Choir shines at state contest

By Staff | May 7, 2008

Members of the ELC Varsity Choir received top honors at Iowa State Large Group contest held last week. The choir is under the direction of Steve Bradburn. EDN photo by Mary Ann Menendez

The 2008 varsity choir at Estherville Lincoln Central High School brought home the highest honors possible from Iowa State Large Group Contest on May 2 at Forest City.

The 41 voices blended together harmoniously with an arrangement of “Danny Boy” and a piece in Latin “Festival Jubilate” to receive a I rating from the panel of judges. ELC was one of seven choirs in the 3A sector of the north central division.

The choir is under the direction of Steve Bradburn who said, “The students really excelled on stage during the competition. I am very proud of them and what they have accomplished. They have worked hard and deserve the accolades.”

Varsity choir members are: Emily Aanonson, Jordan Ahrenstorff, Kyle Anderson, Lauren Boggess, Mallory Bradley, Jessica Brashear, Roger Breaman, Sarah Chrestiansen, Sarah Christenson, Derrick Drinovsky.

Graye Farnum, Tracy Fay, Adam Gellert, Tyler Halstead, Danielle Hand, Lexie Hash, Noelle Hecht, Elizabeth Humble, Samantha Johnson, Erin Kirchner.

Brittany Krekow, Jake Lange, Elizabeth Larscheid, Justin Lundgren, Stephanie Lynch, Ryan Marks, Jim Mohler, Elizabeth Olson, Tucker Olson, Jennifer Payne-Beaver.

Kendra Peters, Victor Rodriguez, Carla Sanchez, Jessica Smith, Caitlyn Swisher, Carson Templeton, Schuyler Webb, Shane Wegner-Mendoza, Robert Weideman, Christina Weston and Josh Young.