homepage logo

Celebrating the arts

By Staff | May 15, 2008

Members of the Patrons of the Fine Arts held Recognition Night Tuesday evening for students at Estherville Lincoln Central High School who were involved in art, dance team, drama, quiz bowl, speech, instrumental music and vocal music during the 2007-08 academic year.

The evening was an award-winning event with special honors and awards bestowed on 2008 graduates.

Senior Fine Arts Awards were presented to Phil Leffel and Sarah Chrestiansen.

In the area of drama, Kyle Anderson was selected as the outstanding actor and Sarah Chrestiansen was named the outstanding actress. The outstanding male support award went to Phil Leffel while Heather Enerson accepted the outstanding female support award.

Receiving the International Thespian Society Cord for production work and acting as outlined by the International Thespian point scale were Kyle Anderson and Sarah Chrestiansen.

Rachel Juhl was tapped as the 2008 Outstanding dancer of the year.

From the art department, the following were selected as artist of the month: August, Jill Clark; September, Caitlin Albertson; October, Michelle Wedebrand; November, Katie Stewart; December, Roger Breaman; January, Emily Hecht; February, Dan Kirchner; March, Scott Schmidt; April, Taylar Jacobson; and May, Olivia Urry.

Art Show winners included:

n Art VII and VIII: Katie Stewart, first; Michelle Wedebrand, second; Mike Lyster.

n Art V and VI: Dan Kirchner, first; Taylar Jacobson, second; and Beth Johnson, third.

n Art III and IV: Roger Breaman, first; Emily Hecht, second; Jill Clark, third.

n Art I and Art II: Brittany Bortvit, first; Patricia Sandoval, second; Belinda Ruiz, third.

The faculty choice award went to Dan Kirchner; administrator choice, Taylar Jacobson; best of show, Dan Kirchner; best of show runner-up, Jill Clark.

Best of show honorable mention awards went to: Caitlin Albertson, Dan Kirchner, Emily Hecht, Taylar Jacobson, Jill Clark, Allison Barnard, Melissa Radmaker and Michelle Wedebrand; Elementary student choice awards were presented to Taylar Jacobson, Dan Kirchner, Scott Schmidt and Mike Lyster.

It was announced three students, Emily Hecht, Taylar Jacobson and Dan Kirchner were selected to attend the Visual Arts Institute at the University of Iowa this summer. Only 28 students from around the state were selected to participate in the program.

The following instrumental awards were presented to: John Philip Sousa Band Award, Phil Leffel; Louis Armstrong Jazz Band Award, Jim Mohler; director’s award, Erin Webb; and marching band spirit award, Kyle Anderson and Tracy Fay.

Other instrumental awards were presented to: Macy Milburn, Jim Mohler and Erin Webb, Iowa Lakes Community College 2008 Jazz Band Contest Outstanding Musicianship; Jim Mohler and Erin Webb, Augustana College 2008 Jazz On The Upper Great Plains Festival Outstanding Musicianship; Jim Mohler, Lamberton Jazz Festival 2008 Outstanding Musicianship; Ryan Marks, 2008 NCIBA District Honor Band member; Kyle Anderson, Heather Enerson, Jeannine Fix, Phil Leffel, Serena Lynch, Stephanie Lynch, Ryan Marks and Tucker Olson, 2008 Wartburg College Honor Band; Kyle Anderson, Ryan Hoffmeyer, Phil Leffel, Stephanie Lynch, Ryan Marks, Macy Milburn, Jim Mohler, Erin Webb and Schuyler Webb, 2007 Augustana Honor Band.

Vocal music awards were presented to the following students: Rob Humble, accompanist award; Tracy Fay and Jim Mohler, outstanding senior awards; Sarah Chrestiansen, director’s award; and Kyle Anderson, National School Choral Award.

A total of 173 students in grades nine through 12 were recognized for their hard work, dedication and love for the fine arts area of their involvement. All students were recognized with certificates and various pins for their contribution to ELC fine arts.

Directors are: Dan Hewitt, art; Sandy Fandel and Kayla Helget, dance team; Robert Bosma, drama; David Finley, quiz bowl; Michael Maffin, speech; Laura Fix, instrumental music; and Steve Bradburn, vocal music.