homepage logo

Graettinger/Terril High School graduates 25

By Staff | May 20, 2008

From left, Marshall Whitney, Amanda Stroud and Chad Sorenson listen to classmates Courtney Dobbins and Dalton Perrin reminisce during Sunday’s commencement in Graettinger. EDN photo by David Swartz

GRAETTINGER – Twenty-five seniors bid fond farewell to high school at the Graettinger/Terril commencement Sunday afternoon.In making a few opening remarks, principal Dan Mart noted that of the 25 graduates, 24 have already earned three or more college credits thanks to an agreement with Iowa Lakes Community college.

Of those, five seniors have over 20 credits which included, Jade Alesch, Courtney, Dobbins, Amanda Stroud, Chad Sorenson and Jennie Mart.

Mart, the class valedictorian, already has 31 college credits.

Dobbins and Dalton Perrin shared school memories from both Graettinger and Terril. The Class of 2008 is the first to attend all four years as Graettinger/Terril with the schools beginning whole-grade sharing when members were freshmen.

Mart gave the valedictorian address while Allison Peyton gave the senior class address.

Followed the presentation of awards and diplomas, Jeremy Moyer gave closing comments.

The class motto is “life brings us tears, smiles and memories. Tears dry, smiles fade, but the memories remain.”

The Graettinger/Terril Class of 2008 includes, Jade Marie Alesch, Dylan Michael Anderson, Courtney Anne Dobbins, Kyle Robert Harding, Amanda Johana Kropf, Brittany Jane Laidig, Gina Beth Lair, Tyler Jon Leiting, Taylor Scott Lloyd, Kody John Manwarren, Jennie Marie Mart, Joel Scott McGrauth, Jeremy James Moyer, Kirstyn Blake Naig, Dalton John Perrin, Jessica Ann Petersen, Allison Katie Powell, Darrell Lee Rademacher, David William Rademacher, Nicole Lee Riley, Dylan Joseph Schmidt, Chadwick Milton Sorenson, Amanda Lynn Stroud, Marshall Scott Whitney.