homepage logo


Time to file for city elections

By Staff | Aug 19, 2009

It’s the summer of ’09 and the attention of the Estherville City Council members Monday were being focused on the Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2009, election where five city positions will be on the ballot.

The list of offices including:

n Mayor, two-year term.

n Ward II, four-year term.

n Ward III, four-year term.

n Ward IV, four-year term.

n At-Large, four-year term.

These positions are currently held by:

n Mayor Lyle Hevern.

n Ward II-John Wittneben.

n Ward III-Dave Seylar.

n Ward IV-Lori Donovan.

n At-Large-Larry Anderson.

Persons seeking the mayor position are required to have 12 signatures. The other positions require 10 signatures.

Petitions may be filed after Sunday, Aug. 23, 2009, but before Thursday, Sept. 17, 2009, at 5 p.m.

The office of city clerk will make petition forms available and will collect all completed petitions to deliver to the county auditor by 5 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 18, 2009.

All petitions must include:

n The signatures.

n Their addresses.

n The date of when the petitioner signed the document.

Petitioners for an individual seeking election from a ward must be residents of that ward. These petitioners must equal at least 2 percent of the total number of voters at the last regular election for that office with 10 petitioners being the minimum.

The “affidavit of candidate” must accompany the candidate’s petition. The affidavit includes:

n Candidate’s name.

n Candidate’s street address.

n Proof the individual is a qualified candidate.

n The statement that if elected, the candidate will serve.

n Notarized signature.

If for whatever reason, a candidate may withdraw a filed nomination. A written, notarized request to that effect must be filed with the city clerk’s office by Tuesday, Sept. 22.