homepage logo


Hevern wins another term

By Staff | Nov 4, 2009

Estherville voters elected long-time Mayor Lyle Hevern to another two-year term in Tuesday’s 2009 city election.

In unofficial results from the Emmet County Auditor’s Office, Hevern garnered 312 votes compared to 273 votes for challenger John Hanson.- a margin of 52 percent to 45.6 percent. There were 14 write-in votes.

In the contested race for the at-large council position in Estherville. Incumbent Larry W. Anderson retained his seat with 60 percent of the vote with his circle darkened on 365 ballots compared to 233 votes (38.8 percent) for challenger Amber E. Houge.

There were three uncontested races for three Estherville council seats. In Ward 2, John Wittneben received 127 votes. In Ward 3, Dave Seylar received 96 votes. In Ward 4, Lori Donovan received 76 votes.

Two other contested races took place in Emmet County.

Six candidates vied for five council spots in Wallingford.

The top five vote-getters were Jeremy Bodle (41), Betsy Dostal (40), Jarrod Fischer (39), Terry Osher (39) and Linda Mickelson (29). Connie M. Olson received 15 votes.

In Ringsted three candidates sought two council seats. Incumbent Darryl Anderson was the leading vote-getter with 70 votes. Challenger Kennith Lowery had 54 votes to edge incumbent Gaylen Zeman, who had 48 votes. Dan Jorgensen received 82 votes for mayor.

In Gruver, all five council seats were up for re-election which matched the five candidates on the ballot. Their vote totals follow: Brent Baddeley (20), Robert Gommels (20), Brett Grems (21), Anthony Hanson (17), Rick Wolfe (20). Loren Anderson received 21 votes for mayor.

In Armstrong, incumbents David Grussing and Jon Larsen were re-elected with 83 and 70 votes, respectively. A third council seat will be decided by write-in votes. Marvin Dailey was uncontested for the mayor position and received 80 votes.

In Dolliver, Russell Deling received 19 votes for mayor. Carl Griese received 23 votes for city council and Roger Rezac received 21.

Of the 5,803 registered voters in Emmet County, 865 (14.91 percent) cast ballots in this election.

The Emmet County Supervisors will canvass election results next Tuesday.