homepage logo


Tigges: Everyone here has had an impact

By Staff | May 25, 2010

Armstrong-Ringsted senior class president and co-valedictorian Craig Tigges encouraged classmates to reach for higher goals. EDN photo by Michael Tidemann

ARMSTRONG – Tears of joy were common in commencement ceremonies Sunday at the Armstrong-Ringsted High School gym. Thirty-five seniors were presented diplomas and congratulated by superintendent Randy Collins, board president Rod Foster and principal Matt Berninghaus.

It was an especially meaningful commencement for band director Athlyn Black and choral director Deb Govern who are retiring this year. Both the band and chorus offered some moving music.

Senior class president and co-valedictorian Craig Tigges offered some words of wisdom to which everyone could relate.

“Everyone here has had an impact,” said Tigges. “We as students decide the peak to climb,” he added, directing his remarks specifically to the class of 2010.

“Through our clubs and organizations we have learned the elements of teamwork,” Tigges said. That was undoubtedly a remark to which he could personally relate. Tigges was MVP of the state A football championship game.

Armstrong-Ringsted School Board President Rod Foster presents Katelyn Cheever her diploma during commencement in Armstrong on Sunday. EDN photo by Michael Tidemann

“In the coming years, seniors, we will face bigger decisions,” said Tigges. “Decisions, decisions, we try to make the right ones to avoid setbacks. Remember to strive to do your best.”

After an emotional slide show that offered pictures of both the state A championship game and the seniors’ recent trip to Florida, diplomas were presented.

Graduates included:

n Tyler Anderson

n Jolene Burkhart

n Ashley Cain

n Katelyn Cheever

n Tess Christainsen

n April Dailey

n Ethan Eisenbacher

n Cody Fairbanks

n Travis Feddersen

n Melinda Fries

n Brittany Frink

n Brianne Gonzales (co-valedictorian)

n Taylor Grabinoski

n Jennifer Graham

n Kyle Jenkins

n Ethan Jensen

n Matthew Kinnander

n Mercedes Larsen

n Dylan Looft

n Kevin Luke

n Brittney Mitchell

n Derek Nemmers

n Ashleigh Newkirk

n Jordan Paulsen

n Karen Payne

n Krista Pelzer

n Heather Rein

n Megan Sanders

n Carrie Sorensen

n Traci Speltz (salutatorian)

n Samantha Spiker

n Craig Tigges (co-valedictorian)

n Tyler Tonderum

n Katherine Truax

n Alyssa WhitesellR