homepage logo


Help available for flood victims

By Staff | Jul 20, 2010

Recently Governor Chet Culver approved a disaster declaration for Emmet County for flooding this past June.

According to Emmet County Emergency Management Director Terry Reekers, grants up to $5,000 are available to Wallingford and any county resident affected by flooding.

Some Wallingford residents suffered flood damage during a June 25 storm.

Program eligibility criteria area as follows:

n The affected household must be located in the affected area identified by the governor disaster declaration area.

n Individuals residing in the household must be able to verify occupancy.

n Individual must be a legal resident of the United States.

n The applicant must be 18 years or older.

n The self-declared annual household income is less than 200 percent of the federal poverty guideline based on the number of people in the household. For a household of one, 200 percent of the federal poverty level is $21,660.

n Sign a release of information and certify that information provided is true and accurate.

n Agree to refund any grant award provided that is duplicated by insurance or any other assistance program.

n Submit documentation that the household or individuals living in the household have no insurance coverage for claimed items.

n Only one application per household will be accepted.

n Applications must be submitted within 45 days of the governor’s disaster declaration.

Turn applications into Reekers at the Emmet County Law Enforcement Center.

The disaster assistance program hot line is 1-877-937-3663. Reekers can be reached at 712-362-5702.