homepage logo

Emmet, PAK and Winnebago empowerment areas to merge

By Staff | Mar 11, 2011

Emmet, Palo Alto, Kossuth and Winnebago County will be merging into one Empowerment Area on July 1, 2011. The new area will be known as Early Childhood North Central Iowa Area.

Community Empowerment (Early Childhood Iowa) was founded on the premise that communities and state government can work together to improve the well being of young children birth to 5 years of age. United through the efforts of Community Empowerment; agencies, organizations, and community partners speak with a shared voice to support, strengthen and meet the needs of young children and their families

Accountability measures are in place in every community in Iowa to demonstrate the capacity and commitment for achieving:

n Healthy Children

n Children Ready to Succeed in School

n Safe and Supportive Communities

n Secure and Nurturing Families

n Secure and Nurturing Child Care Environments

Early Childhood Iowa Areas are collaborative bodies consisting of citizens, elected officials, and representatives of education, health, human services, faith, business, and consumers charged to reach the desired results in order to improve the quality of life for young children and their families. Newly elected board members are: Darin Moeller, Sonya Gjerde, Ron Smith, and Dorothy Christensen from Emmet County; Ellen Picray, Linda Tertner, and Keith Wirtz, from Palo Alto County; Jack Plathe, Dini Anderson, Nancy Clark and Billie Wille from Kossuth County; Larry Hill, Dawn Moore, Mary Mathiasen and Daryl Sherman from Winnebago County.

The mission of the new board is to envision that through our collaborative efforts, all families, will have knowledge and accessibility to services in order to become self-sufficient and to provide a nurturing environment for their young children.

Grants are available to assist with the mission and fund early care and health education in the four counties, prenatal to 5 years of age and their families.

Requests for proposals are available by contacting Carol Peterson at 641-584-2261 or carolp@iastate.edu; Beth Heifner 712-362-5695 or emcoempower@yourstarnet.net; Paige Hollinger, 515-295-7784 or phollinger@aea8.k12.ia.us