homepage logo


2011 ELC Graduation ‘Seize the Day’

By Staff | May 17, 2011

Elsa Aanonson was the first to receive her diploma from ELC School Board President Jodie Greig at the 2011 Estherville Lincoln Central Commencement Program Sunday at the high school gym. Find more photos from graduation on Page 5 of today’s Daily News and online at cu.esthervilledailynews.com EDN photos by David Swartz

While remembering a classmate, Collin Helmers, who passed away approximately seven years ago, the message delivered to the Estherville Lincoln Central Class of 2011 on Sunday was one often given to graduates-carpe diem or seize the day.

ELC Class President Morgan Schichtl welcomed the class and guests.

“Can you believe this day is finally here,” she said. “We’ve been dreaming of it since the second day of our freshman year.”

Schichtl encouraged her classmates to embrace today and thank those who helped make it possible. She thanked the school board, and everyone from administration to teachers to lunch ladies, the bus drivers and finally family.

Schichtl encouraged her class to “seize the day.”

“You should think about it every day and the goal is to live your life like you’re dying,” she said. “You don’t want to regret the words you didn’t say or the things you didn’t do.”

In memory of Collin Helmers, Schichtl explained yellow roses were selected by his parents, Randy and Carla, and later presented to the graduates after receiving their diploma.

Schichtl said the students had the option to visit the cemetery after the ceremony and leave their roses if they wish.

After Schichtl finished speaking, a senior ensemble, directed by Steven Bradburn, sang “Whenever You Remember.”

Then salutatorian Tucker Olson gave the commencement address.

Olson talked about a man who had several failures in his life before becoming one of the United States’ greatest presidents-Abraham Lincoln.

He encouraged his classmates to always do their best and maximize their potential.

“If I got a C, that was fine as long as I did my best,” he said.

Valedictorian Serena Lynch gave the “class farewell.”

Lynch said she believes everyone is unique and all have flaws and strengths.

She encouraged everyone to use their strengths to become what they want to be.

“My wish is that everyone of you have a long and healthy life,” she said.

However, the class learned that we never know when that is as she referred to Collin Helmers, Deb Weideman and Amy Jensen.

“Remember the good times and make the best of every day,” she encouraged.

Those receiving diplomas on Sunday were: Elsa Katheryn Aanonson, Kristine Beatrice Adams, Brady John Adolph, Ryan Scott Albrant, Tessa Lyn Bernholtz, Justin Michael Booth, Brittany Ann Bortvit, Kayla Mae Bortvit, Mackenzie Elizabeth Burns, Marcus Daniel Christensen, Daniel Allen Condon, Ethan George Condon, Riley Robert Curry, Luanna Rodrigues Daud, Michael Andrew Dieterich, Derrick Jon Drinovsky, Riley Ray Edwards, Paula Josephine Erickson, Ryan Joseph Etherington, Jeannine Marie Fix, Melissa Jean Gjerde;

Shelby Lynn Guse, Mathew David Hansen, Craig Nathaniel Hatland, Maggie Jolene Haugen, Amanda Lee Heinrichs, Taylor Ann Heinrichs, Braden Nicholas Held, Cyrill Hellwig, Ethan Timothy Helmers, Allison Renee Hevern, Marriah Kristine Howard, Allen Joseph Ingvall, Payton William Jaquith, Taylor Franklin Jaquith, Nathan James Jensen, Joshua Allen Keeler, Evan Thomas Frank Klingbeil, Kevin David Kuemper, Emily Elizabeth Lair, Justin Lawrence Lanning;

Aaron Cole Lindell, Melissa Margaret Linge, Andrea Irene Lunning, Tyler Joseph Lutz, Serena Michelle Lynch, Raeanna Jean Muller, Samantha Jean Natterstad, Trisha Marie Nelson, Brennan Everett Nyren, Erin Marie Olson, Tucker Addison Olson, Marcus Dean Origer, Douglas John Petersen, Jr., Jessica Brooke Phillips, Tyler Timothy Poulson, Kimberlee Ann Pouykham, Alex John Quastad, Nancy Alejandra Ramos, David John Roach, Brenna Jessica Rowley;

Anselmo Salazar, Cassandra Lyan Salazar, Miguel Adrian Sanchez, Morgan Michelle Schichtl, Neil Patrick Schmaus, Kaylee Marie Schoon, Dillion William Schwidder, Seth Steward Shatto, Chelsea Sophia Simon, Logan Mitchell Stinar, Steven Garrison Subbert, Jennie Elizabeth Thomas, Jessica Marie Torres, Ryan Jay Vos, Mikylah Anne Ware, Ashley Lynn Weston, Ty Levi Wilson, Molly Kristine Wittmer, Chelsie Marie Wycoff, Zachary Thomas Wycoff.

Mid-term graduates were Blake Allen Hoffman and Julio Cesar Ruiz.