homepage logo


It’s our turn now

By Staff | May 24, 2011

The Armstrong-Ringsted Class of 2011 celebrates graduation by tossing their caps in the air during the commencement ceremony in Armstrong on Sunday. EDN photo by Moriah Hawn

Sunday May 22, 2011, 20 young adults graduated from Armstrong-Ringsted High School. It was a day filled with smiles, laughter, and a few tears. Families gathered and filled the gym, and shortly after the proud graduates entered and took their seats.

Class president Whitney Kinnander gave her welcome speech to the crowd. She spoke of fond memories throughout the school years.

“For the last three years, we have been the ones in the audience, watching the ones go before us. Now it is our turn,” she said.

She read a poem from their third grade teacher. It named each student, and relayed how the teacher wished that they could teach each and every one of him or her again. She congratulated the class on all their accomplishments, and then returned to her chair.

A slideshow followed that portrayed students from their childhood to present. There were not many dry eyes after watching their children grow up so fast in such a short collection of photos.

Diplomas were handed out, and each proud student crossed the stage, and stopped to let superintendent Randy Collins move their tassels to the proper side in a final gesture of completion.

There was a presentation of roses, from students to their families. Many mothers’ eyes were filled with pride, and a few tears as their children hugged them.

The graduates returned to the front of the stage, and superintendent Randy Collins presented the class of 2011. Caps sailed through the air as the audience applauded ferociously. The graduates then took their first steps toward the future.

A bright future awaits them, hopefully they will live by their motto, “Live life on the edge, just make sure you don’t fall off.”

A-R graduates are Crystal Lynn Bush, Aleksandra Bojanic, Spencer Arnold Clausen, Clinton James Davis, Christopher Allen DeVary, Halley Kristine Fox, Travis Ray Hantelman, Joshua David Ingalls, Emily Kay Irmiter, Whitney Marie Kinnander, Nicholas David Larsen, Byron Louis Larsen, David Lee Leach, Courntey rae Leach, Courtney Rae Lindell, Keith Darren Mathine, Cassandra Rae Rasmussen, Bryson Lee Rezac, Lyle Edwin Sathoff, Jeffrey Allen Trosin, Carlynn Jean White.