homepage logo


Light turnout for Estherville election

By Staff | Nov 6, 2013

With no contested elections in Estherville, voter turnout was very light on Tuesday.

The Estherville City Council will have a new representative in Ward 2 though. Write-in candidate Julie Clark received 26 of the 36 votes cast in that precinct.

Current Ward 2 council member Terry Nelson did not seek re-election.

All results were unofficial until canvassed by the Emmet County board of Supervisors on Thursday.

For mayor, incumbent Kenny Billings was given the nod for a second term as he received 168 votes in an uncontested race. There were 10 write-in votes in the mayoral election.

Incumbent Larry W. Anderson received 166 votes for the at-large council seat

In Ward 3, incumbent David Seylar received 32 votes with just one write-in ballot.

In Ward 4, Ann Goebel received 17 votes with two write-in ballots

Candidates elected Tuesday will take office in January 2014.