homepage logo

No local races in June 3 primary

By Staff | Mar 28, 2014

It appears that any contests for county elected offices will happen in the fall general election, with barely enough candidates to fill the field for local races in the June 3 primary.

With two supervisor seats coming open – those currently held by Republican Jon Martyr and Democrat Ron Smith – both parties are entitled to select a slate of two to field in the Nov. 4 general election.

Both Smith and Martyr met Wednesday’s filing deadline, along with Democrat John Wittneben, former Dist. 7 representative and Estherville city council member, and Republican Melanie Summers Bauler.

Incumbent Democrat Doug Hansen was the only candidate to file for the county attorney’s race by Wednesday’s deadline with no Republican candidate filing.

Two other incumbents who were the only ones filing were Republican Diann Quastad Minion for recorder and Democrat Vickie K. Jurrens for treasurer.

With five-term Sen. Democrat Tom Harkin deciding not to run for election, 1st Dist. Congressman Bruce Braley is the only candidate from the Democratic party to throw his hat into the ring.

A wide field of Republican candidates are running for US Senate, including Sam Clovis, Joni Ernst, Mark Jacobs, Scott Schaben and Matt Whitaker.

Incumbent 4th Dist. Rep. Republican Steve King will face Democrat challenger Jim Mower.

There will be a Republican primary race with Tom Hoefling challenging incumbent Gov. Terry Branstad. Jack Hatch, current chair of the Iowa Senate health and Human Services Budget Subcommittee, is the only Democrat running for governor.

With incumbent Iowa Secretary of State Republican Matt Schultz choosing not to run for reelection but instead for Iowa’s 3rd Congressional District seat being vacated by retiring Republican Tom Latham, there is one candidate for secretary of state from each party – Democrat Brad Anderson and Republican Paul Pate.

Mary Mosiman, incumbent Republican Iowa auditor of state, unopposed in the primary, will face the lone Democrat candidate, Jonathan Neiderbach, in the general election.

Michael Fitzgerald, incumbent Democratic treasurer of state, at this point is unopposed in both the primary and general election.

Bill Northey, incumbent Republican Iowa secretary of agriculture from Spirit Lake, is also unopposed in the June 3 primary. He will face lone Democratic challenger Sherrie Taha in November.

Democratic incumbent Attorney General Tom Miller is at this point unopposed in both the primary and general election.

Incumbent Republican Dist. 7 State Rep. Tedd Gassman will face Democrat Dave Grussing, formerly an Armstrong city council member, in November with both candidates unopposed in the primary.