homepage logo


ELC Class of 2014

By Staff | May 23, 2014

The Estherville Lincoln Central Class of 2014 celebrates their graduation from high school with the traditional tossing of their caps in the air on Sunday. Find photos at cu.esthervillenews.net. Photo by David Swartz

Eighty high-school seniors received their diplomas at the 2014 Estherville Lincoln Central commencement on Sunday.

Senior Class President Rachel Bates gave the welcome starting with a ‘selfie.’ She went on to thank all those who helped the senior class get to this day-ELC Board of Education, administrators, teachers, staff and parents.

The 2014 featured co-salutatorians Rebecca Lair and Alec Wycoff.

Lair gave the class farewell and then joined fellow senior choir members in the senior ensemble as they sang “The Time of My Life.”

Valedictorian Heather Natterstad gave the commencement address.

She began with a quote from Steve Jobs. “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.”

She implored her fellow gradates to follow their own individual dreams.

“Do not become satisfied with yourself until you have achieved your goal,” she said. “When you reach it, then set new goals.”

A new segment was added to the ELC commencement-a distinguished Alumnus.

Dr. Jon Wood, a 1991 Estherville High School graduate, was the first named as a distinguished graduate. After gradating from Estherville, he attended Augustana College and then received his medical degree from the University of Iowa College of Medicine. He currently is employed as a diagnostic radiologist specializing in body imaging and breast imaging with Suburban Radiologic Consultants, Ltd. in Minneapolis.

Dr. Wood is involved with Feed My Starving Children, D.O.C. (Doctors Ought to Care), Habitat for Humanity and is the former president of the Blue Key Honor Society.

Wood presented the Foundation Scholarship to Tia Bernholtz.

Following the presentation of diplomas, ELC High School Principal Frank Christenson left the graduates with three quotes-the first from Dr. Seuss.

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And you are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

The second quote Christenson provided was from an anonymous source.

“Learn from the mistakes of others. You’ll not live long enough to make them all yourself.”

The final quote Christenson cited is from Gary Bolden.

“Your families are extremely proud of you. You can’t imagine the sense of relief they are experiencing. This would be a most opportune time to ask for money.”

The ELC High School Class of 214 includes Nicholas Peter Aanonson, Victoria Lynn Abrahamson, Alexander Acht, Bailey Marie Adolph, Ana Isela Alonso, Kendra Alexis Bartolo, Rachel Marie Bates, Mikenzie Ann Bell, Tia Bailey Bernholtz;

Tayler Jane Bodle, Jacob Jordan Edward Bortvit, Thomas Lee Bortvit, Elizabeth Kay Brashear, Cole Michael Budach, Madison Marie Burns, Colton Daniel Christensen, James Elliot Clemens, Cody Wayne Davis, Ali Elizabeth DeVary, Brianna Marie Enerson;

Chase Michael Erickson, Kayla MaRae Fuller, Blake Allen Gjerde, Timothy Merle Greving, Maria Lynn Hansgaard, Jacob Allan Hanson, Ashley Kay Hartkopp, Joseph Ronald Heinrichs, Noah Francis Helmers;

David Earl Hughes, Levi Anton Jensen, Jennifer Perez Joaquin, Stormy Nicole Johnson-Cornia, Katelyn Marie Kilpatrick, Dorde Komlen, Rebecca Lynn Lair, Samantha Lea Longman, Maysen Lee Lupkes, Calvin Wayne Lynch Jr.;

Kyle Andrew Marks, Elias Martinez, Lexus Paige McCullick, Kevin Earl Miller, Lauren Kristine Moeller, Dakota Clarence Moffitt, Alesha Kae Molacek, Dalton Allen Molacek, Rachael Jane Muller, Raul Alejandro Murillo;

Heather Marie Natterstad, Crystina Marie Palmer, Heather Lynn Pederson, Chandler Normand Platt, Oscar Orlando Ramirez, Corey Lane Reeves, John Thomas Reisner, Jozlynn Alyse Ring, Micah Benjamin Roach, Paige Josephine Roseland;

Taylor James Russell, Sarah Ann Schacherer, Shawntell Marie Schwidder, Anthony Segura, Christopher Dean Seylar, Michael Louis Simon, William Daryl Snyder Jr., Timothy David Soper, Michaela Bettina Stein, Sierra Kaye Stille;

Sara Selam Stockfish, Riley Matthew Strenge, Katie Lee Tendal, Clayton Mitchell Tredway, Trey De Vone Isaiah Trompeter, Doris van der Laan, Jordan Montgomery Wittrock, Brady James Witzke, Alec Thomas Wycoff, Julia Louise Zitterich.