homepage logo


Voters turn out for primary

By Staff | Jun 5, 2014

Emmet County voters turned out for the 2014 Primary Election on Tuesday.

Of the 7,331 registered voters, 630 or 8.59 percent cast ballots.

The county has 2,183 registered Democrats of which 263 or 12.05 percent cast ballots. Of the 1,765 registered Republican voters, 367 or 20.79 percent cast ballots.

County Republicans followed the rest of Iowa in giving Joni Ernst the most votes in a five-way race for the U.S. Senate. Ernst received 167 votes or 48.41 percent. Mark Jacobs received 84 votes, Sam Clovis 76, Matt Whitaker 12 and Scott Schaben six.

Ernst will face Democratic candidate Bruce Braley in the November General Election.

In the GOP gubernatorial contest, incumbent Terry E. Branstad received 306, or 86.44 percent of the votes with Tom Hoefling receiving 47 votes. Branstad will face Democrat Jack Hatch in the General Election.

Other GOP vote totals are as follows:

For U.S. Representative District 4, Steve King received 312 votes.

For Secretary of State, Paul D. Pate received 263 votes

For State Auditor, Mary Mosiman received 258 votes.

For Secretary of Agriculture, Bill Northey received 300 votes.

For State Representative for District 7, Tedd Gassman received 302 votes.

For Emmet County Board of Supervisors, Jon Martyr received 271 votes while Melanie Summers Bauler received 193. Both will be on the ballot in November.

For county recorder, Dianne Quastad Minion received 295 votes.

On the Democratic side, results were as follows.

Bruce Braley received 176 votes for U.S. Senator.

Jim Mowrer received 167 votes for U.S. Representative for District 4.

Hatch received 172 votes for governor.

Brad Anderson received 167 votes for Secretary of State

Jonathan Neiderbach received 163 votes for State Auditor.

Michael L. Fitzgerald received 181 votes for State Treasurer.

Sherrie Taha received 157 votes for Secretary of Agriculture.

Tom Miller received 185 votes for Attorney General.

For Emmet County Board of Supervisors, Ron Smith received 175 votes and John Wittneben received 168 votes. Both will be on the ballot in November.

For county treasurer, Vickie K. Jurrens received 209 votes.

For county attorney Douglas R. Hansen received 1