homepage logo


County races show trust in incumbents

By Staff | Nov 9, 2016

The race for county supervisor was the local race to watch in Emmet County.

With five candidates seeking three positions, incumbents Tim Schumacher-R and Bev Juhl-D received the top number of votes with Schumacher receiving 2,520 and Juhl close behind with 2,498.

Democrat Roger Hash is newly elected to the board with 2,316 taking the place of Alan Madden, who did not seek re-election.

John Skrepak was fourth with 1,965 and John Brickner was fifth with 1,658 votes.

The Emmet County Auditor election was a contested one, with incumbent Amy Sathoff, winner in June’s special election, coming in on top again with 2,934 votes, and Amy Brickner trailing with 1,668 votes. The two had faced off in a special election in June 2015. With lower turnout, Sathoff received 482 votes to Brickner’s 203 in that election.

Sheriff Mike Martens ran unopposed and retains his position as Emmet County Sheriff as he received 3,600 votes with just 204 write-in ballots.

Emmet County

non-partisan races

Emmet County non-partisan races had just one contested election as six people sought five spots on the county agricultural extension council.

Trevor Enerson was the top vote-getter with 2,486 while Cody Newgard received 2,363 followed by Bruce Chrestiansen with 2,285, Betsey Ulrich with 2,242 and Greg Deim with 2,172. Beto Hernandez received 1,220 votes.

In the election for Emmet County Soil and Water Conservation Commission, three candidates sought the three seats. Harley Madden received 2,877 votes, Robert Ness received 2,723 votes and William Fettes received 2,1081 votes.

For Township Trustees, Armstrong Grove had just one candidate for two spots with Deborah Zoellner receiving 80 votes with six write-in votes.

Center Township also had just one trustee candidate for two spots. Ronald Klingbeil received 101 votes with just two write-in votes.

The same case was in Lincoln Township with only Kim Swanson running for Township Trustee as he received 44 votes. There were 14 write-in votes.

In Emmet County Township, Brady White received 73 votes and Chris Snyder received 65 for those two seats.

In Iowa Lake Township, Dick Sturm received 64 votes and Brian Crouch received 59 for the two slots.