homepage logo


Quiz Bowl masters

By Staff | Jan 19, 2017

SIOUX CITY – What are three countries that are not a member of the United Nations?

If you’re trying to answer this sort of question, you may be a member of a quiz bowl team.

Estherville Lincoln Central’s quiz bowl teams has had success over the years.

The 2016-17 squad recently was one of 16 teams that won their way to televised Quiz Bowl competition after participating in a preliminary tournament held Jan. 14 on the Morningside College campus. Teams from 28 high schools in Iowa and Nebraska participated in the tournament, which was organized by the Iowa Quiz Bowl League.

Members of the Estherville Lincoln Central Quiz Bowl Team are, front from left, Bridget Finley, Riley Koons, Darnell Eveleth, Lizzy Herrick, Emily Herum, Camden McKenney and Joseph Sexe.

The top 16 teams from Saturday’s tournament will compete for championship honors in the Quiz Bowl Tournament to be broadcast Saturdays, starting March 11, on KCAU-TV in Sioux City.

Other high school quiz bowl teams that qualified for the broadcast competitions are East in Sioux City; Lyons-Decatur Northeast in Lyons, Neb.; Emmetsburg in Emmetsburg; Sergeant Bluff-Luton in Sergeant Bluff; Le Mars Community in Le Mars; Lawton-Bronson in Lawton; Unity Christian in Orange City; Woodbury Central in Moville; Boyer Valley in Dunlap; Oakland-Craig in Oakland, Neb.; Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn in Hartley; Logan-Magnolia in Logan; Bishop Heelan in Sioux City; IKM-Manning in Manning; and West in Sioux City.

For your answer, Kosovo, Taiwan and Vatican City are the three countries not part of the United Nations.