homepage logo


2017 Iowa Lakes Community College Commencement Burton honored with Jim Hall Outstanding Alumni Award

By Staff | May 15, 2017

The gym at Iowa Lakes Community College was filled with friends, family and fellow students as the college held its graduation ceremony Friday night.

Instructor Abi Sedlacek introduced the Presidential Scholars, including Lauren Flaherty of Dickens, an alumna of Graettinger-Terril High School.

Alumni Association President Chris Fuhrman presented the Jim Hall Outstanding Alumni Award to Rev. Doug Burton of First Christian Church in Estherville.

Burton said his life trajectory began when he first picked up a microphone at the age of eight. Burton spent years in radio before becoming a pastor, and now is a popular local master of ceremonies and some time radio announcer. He also returns regular to Iowa Lakes to announce the basketball games.

Courtney Calkins and Cammy Trierweiler addressed the class, telling stories of their struggles and triumphs during their time at Iowa Lakes Community College.

New alumni from Emmet County and the immediate area include: Adam Bistrup, Clinton Davis, Bryce Harris, Herbert Winter, Michael Larsen, Damon England, Madison Irmiter, and Kerra Kirchner, all of Armstrong; Elizabeth Bixby, Colten Christensen, Andrew Grubb Jr., Katie Gruhlke, Timothy Hurst, Isaac Jorgenson, Joe Kiefer, Calvin Lynch, Ciara Minion, Joslyn Moore, Cayli Newton, Randy Nielsen, Thomas Olson, Jazmine Ring, Ashley Skrepak, Kayla Smith, Timothy Soper, Tiffany Thomas, Zoey Huntley, Ryan McMurtry, Vanessa Carreon, Ashlee Handeland, Adam McCarthy, Noah Diekmann, Jeannine Cook, Macy Dahl, Steven Aanonson, Roger Kruse, and Taylor Roseland, all of Estherville; Jessika Gustin, Tori Adams, Haylee Logue, Lauren Flaherty, all of Dickens; Katherine Harrison of Ledyard; Barbara Parker, Rory Lindell, Lola Meyer, all of Ringsted; Sarah Schacherer and Rodrick Fuller of Wallingford; and Tasha Neilson, Cody Thompson, Skye Simonson, all of Graettinger.

A reception followed the ceremony in the college 4-Plex.

At right, Iowa Lakes Community College president Valerie Newhouse presents Colten Christensen of Ringsted with his Associate of Arts diploma.

Photo by Amy H. Peterson