homepage logo


Area city council candidates file for November election

By Staff | Sep 28, 2017

On Wednesday, Emmet County Auditor Amy Sathoff released the official slate of city council candidates for Emmet County. The deadline for withdrawal was Tuesday at 5 p.m.

The city of Estherville will have a new mayor. Mayor Kenny Billings has decided to not run for another term. Cindy Hood is the only candidate who filed to run for mayor. Anyone wishing to also run for mayor of Estherville, or any other position, would need to do so by write-in campaign.

John Skrepak, who ran unsuccessfully last year for the Emmet County Board of Supervisors, is running against Ward IV council member Ann Goebel.

Estherville council members Julie Clark, David Seylar and Brandon Carlin are running unopposed for Wards II and III, and an at-large position, respectively.

In Armstrong, Billy Ross is challenging incumbent mayor Greg Buum, who was elected in 2016.

Five candidates have filed for three at-large council positions in Armstrong: incumbents Nathan Anderson, Rhett Hiney, and Patty Thackery, and challengers Bradley Robert Layne and Nick W. Mart.

In Ringsted, no one has filed to run against incumbent mayor Dan Jorgensen. Three candidates are running for two at-large council positions: Karrie Hammond, Diane Michalec, and Dennis Nelsen.

Jarrod Fischer is unopposed for mayor of Wallingford. Five candidates filed for the five at-large city council positions: Brian Behrends, Jeremy Bodle, Ryan Cellan, Linda Mickelson, and Mary Moorman.

Dolliver and Gruver also have mayoral candidates running unopposed. Two at-large council positions are open in Dolliver with no candidates filing for them. In Gruver, four candidates have filed for five at-large positions: Wesley Baddeley, Robert Gommels, Brett Grems, and Anthony Hanson.

The election will be held Nov. 7.