homepage logo


Emmet County follows rest of state

By David Swartz - Managing Editor | Nov 4, 2020

Emmet County followed the rest of Iowa in its national elections giving its support to Donald Trump for president and Joni Ernst in the U.S. Senate.

In the Fourth District U.S. House race, Randy Feenstra-R defeated J.D. Scholten receiving nearly 62 percent of the vote. Scholten had defeated incumbent Steve King in the Republican primary. Two years ago, Scholten had nearly defeated King.

Republican Roger Stone won the race to represent Iowa House District 7 with 9,436 votes over Debra Jensen’s 5,814 votes. District 7 includes Emmet and Winnebago counties, as well as the north half of Kossuth County, including the city of Algona. Stone won in each county with 2,805 votes to 1,662 votes in Emmet County, 3,174 votes to 1,865 votes in Kossuth County and 3,457 votes to 2,287 votes in Winnebago County. Incumbent Tedd Gassman-R did not seek reelection.

Emmet County voters elected two Republicans and one Democrat to the Board of Supervisors. Five candidates were vying for the three seats up for election. Republican Lisa K. Hansen received the most votes with 2,521. Also winning election were incumbent Republican Tim Schumacher with 2,380 votes and incumbent Democrat Todd Glasnapp with 2,293 votes.

Incumbent Roger Hash finished fourth with 2,102 votes while Sarah Morphew received 1,428 votes.

Fourth District Iowa State Senator Dennis Guth ran unopposed for reelection. In Emmet County, he received 3,673 votes. Overall in Senate District 4, he received 25,373. Senate District 4 includes Emmet, Kossuth, Winnebago, Hancock, and Wright counties.

Emmet County Sheriff Mike Martens and Auditor Amy Sathoff also were both unopposed. Sathoff received 3,717 votes and Martens received 3,778 votes.

Five seats were open on the County Agricultural Extension Council with four candidates–Trevor Enerson received 2,912 2,912 votes, Chelsey Smith received 2,560, Lisa Schmidt received 2,443, and Joe Crouch received 2,380. There were 231 write-in votes.

Township trustees elected include Armstrong Grove Township Trustee – Craig Nemmers (121 votes); Center Township Trustee – Ronald Klingbeil (101), Emmet Township Trustee – Chris Snyder (81), Iowa Lake Township Trustee – Brian Crouch (53), and Lincoln Township Trustee – Kim Swanson (42). Each township requires two trustees with the second likely filled by appointment by the board of supervisors.

Jim Cronk was elected to the Soil and Water Conservation District Commission. Three seats were open on the board.

All Emmet County tallies are unofficial until canvassed by the Board of Supervisors.