homepage logo


Nominate an Emmet County farmer

By Staff | Mar 23, 2016

Every year, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation sponsors the Iowa Conservation Farmer of the Year award. The statewide winner will be the person who is making outstanding contributions towards soil conservation and water quality.

The award helps to recognize those farmers that understand the need to conserve Iowa’s rich soils and to protect Iowa’s water quality.

Let those Emmet County farmers that are going the extra mile in their conservation efforts know that they are appreciated by nominating them.

To nominate in Emmet County, the nominator needs to write a brief letter and submit it to the local Soil and Water Conservation District Office located at 2109 Murray Road in Estherville.

The SWCD will then select one nomination to advance for consideration for the Conservation Districts of Iowa Regional Conservation Award. A statewide winner will then be chosen from the nine regional winners.

The winner will be honored Aug. 30 at the Conservation Districts of Iowa annual meeting in Altoona and will have free use of a John Degree 6D series utility tractor or its equivalent for up to 12 months or up to 200 hours.