homepage logo

Knights crown five champions at Laurens Tournament – Tatman, Schany, Anderson, Hoffman and Brown earn titles

By Staff | Jan 29, 2008

LAURENS — The Graettinger/Terril wrestling team crowned five champions at the Laurens-Marathon Tournament on Saturday.

Winning titles were James Tatman 9103), Kass Schany (160), Josh Anderson (189), Jake Hoffman (215) and Kyle Brown (285).

“We had an OK day,” said G/T coach Cody Alesch. Josh Anderson got his fourth tournament championship at 189. We need to be better at a few things and with a little hard work this week, hopefully we’ll be ready for sectionals on Saturday.

At 103 pounds, Tatman spent less than two minutes on the mat as he pinned his way to a title. He beat Alta’s Ernesto Dominquez in 13 seconds and pinned Twin River Valley’s Cody Masgard in 1:02.

At 160, Schany opened with a pin in1:20 over TRV’s Justin Seifried and then pinned East Sac’s Ethan Murray in 2:34. In the finals, Pomeroy-Palmer’s Tony Harrington lost by technical fall, 16-1.

Anderson pinned his way to the title, taking down TRV’s Blake Naeve in 2:38 and pinning Alta’s Miah Haller in 59 seconds.

Hoffman also had all pins, beating Pocahontas’ Josh Winegarden in 1:06; Laurens-Marathon’s Cody Simpson in 2:21 and TRV’s Bryce Jensen in 4:39.

At 285, Brown opened with pins over Sioux Central's Matt Hoflin (:41) and TRV’s Cody Vanderhoff (1:03). and then won 6-3 over Alta’s Jake Signergaard in the finals.

Placing second was Michael Jensen at 135 pounds.

He pinned Alta’s Nate Robbins in 1:50 and Pomeroy-Palmer's Tony Frette in 2:32 before losing 4-1 to Pocahontas’ Zach Beckman.

Placing third were Ryan Schany at 119 pounds and Heath Marchand at 145 pounds.

Schany won 6-1 over East Sac’s Cedric Smith to earn third place while Marchand pinned Laurens-Marathon’s Damion Wilson in 2:02 in his third-place match.

Placing fourth was Logan Tonderum at 140 pounds while Brandon Hampson placed fifth at 171 pounds.

The Knights travel to Manson for the Class 1A Sectional Tournament on Saturday.