homepage logo

Elks Hoop Shoot winners released

By Staff | Jan 31, 2008

The Estherville Elks Lodge No. 528 held its annual Hoop Shoot Jan. 28 at the Regional Wellness Center in Estherville.

This is the first leg of competition for the National Freethrow Shooting Contest held each year. The local winners are eligible to compete in the District Contest in Storm Lake on Saturday, Feb. 2.

Twenty-three boys and 32 girls, ages 8-13, competed in the contest.

The winners are:

Girls, ages 8-9–Kyarsten Mullen, first; Colleen Humble, second; Caressa Franklin, third.

Girls, ages 10-11–Peyton Oleson, first; Madison Irmiter, second; Jaycie Eaton, third.

Girls, ages 12-13–Lauren Moeller, first; Sarah Schacherer, second; Rachel Bates, third.

Boys, ages 8-9–Parker Oleson, first; Nathan Eaton, second; Robert Sheridan, third.

Boys, ages 10-11–Alec Wycoff, first; Joshua Olson, second; Jack Brashear, third.

Boys, ages 12-13–Justin Harris, first; Evan Hansen, second; Jake Rosburg, third.

The first place winners receive a special Elks Hoop Shoot T-shirt in addition to a trophy. Second and third place winners each receive a trophy. These awards are to be presented at half time of the Estherville Lincoln Central JV Boys home basketball game on Feb. 12.

The Estherville Elks Lodge appreciates the enthusiastic participation and cooperation of the great crew at the Regional Wellness Center. Their help ensures this to be a fun and successful program for our area youth.