homepage logo

Four Knights to keep wrestling – Tatman, Hoffman, McGrauth, Brown advance to district

By Staff | Feb 5, 2008

LAURENS — While Graettinger/Terril crowned four sectional champs at the Class 1A meet in Laurens on Saturday, the rest of the Knight wrestlers had a disappointing day. Winning sectional titles were James Tatman (103), Jake Hoffman (189), Joel McGrauth (215) and Kyle Brown (285).

“The four district qualifiers all wrestled well today,” said G/T coach Cody Alesch. “but this was our worst tournament as a team all year and we let reversal matches go the other way. At this time of year, you need to be on top of your game and several kids were not.

Even though some seasons came to a close those kids still have a lot to be proud of,” he added.

Tatman, rated No. 9 at 103 pounds, had a short day with just one match where he pinned Fort Dodge St. Edmond’s Lance Maguire in 2:20.

Hoffman, rated No. 1 at 189 pounds, pinned his way to a title taking down Prairie Valley’s Dalton Garnet in 1:33 and Pocahontas Area’s Tom Brinkman in 1:56.

McGrauth pinned Sioux Central’s Chris Sievers in 1:101 and lLaurens-Marathon’s Cody Simpson in 5:49 to reach the finals. He won his sectional title with a 3-0 victory over Manson Northwest Webster’s Andy Tews.

At 285, Kyle Brown pinned Sioux Central’s Matt Haflin in 51 seconds and then pinned Pocahontas’ Clay Wentzel in 1:26.

In the finals, he won a 7-3 decision over Prairie Valley’s Jack Michalski.

Placing third for the Knights were Michael Jensen at 135 pounds and Kass Schany at 160.

Ryan Schany (112) and Logan Tonderum (140) placed fourth and Josh Anderson (171) placed fifth.

In the team standings, the Knights placed fourth with 152 points.

Manson Northwest Webster won with 222.5 points followed by Pocahontas with 192, Prairie Valley with 188. Placing fifth was Fort Dodge St. Edmond with 128 followed by Laurens-Marathon with 80, Sioux Central with 47 an Pomeroy-Palmer with 19.

The four G/T sectional champs travel to the district meet in Manson next Saturday, wrestlers starts at noon.