homepage logo

Lakes All-Conference

By Staff | Feb 23, 2008

ELC senior Matt Gruhlke was named second team all-conference for his play this season. EDN file photo

The 2008 Lakes Conference all-conference boys basketball team released recently show the top teams with most of the players.

Western Christian, which finished with a 15-1 record in league play, led the balloting with three first team selections and one second-team member. Spencer, was second in the league standings at 13-3, had two members each on the first and second tams.

For ELC, the Midgets’ lone representative is Matt Gruhlke, who made the second team.

Spirit Lake, which posted its one of its best conference records at 11-5 behind a senior-dominated team, had one first-team selection in Andy Pringnitz and second team selection Tyler Solsma. Coach John Walz was named coach of the year.

Gruhlke, a 6-1 forward, averaged 7.8 points and three assists in conference play.

Teammates Marcus Stangl and Kyle Grems both earned honorable mention. Stangl, a 6-4 senior post player, averaged 8.5 points and 5.9 rebounds in the conference. Grems, a 6-4 junior post player, averaged 7.6 points and 5.8 rebounds.

For Spirit Lake, Pringnitz, a 6-3 senior post player, averaged 12 points and eight rebounds per game. Solsma, a 6-0 junior guard, averaged 10.7 points and 4.8 rebounds per game.

Spirit Lake’s honorable mention are seniors Scott Maudlin and Mason Bergquist.

Bergquist averaged 10.9 points per game and Maudlin averaged 9.4 points and 3.5 assists in league play.

Lakes Conference

boys basketball

First Team

Shawn Keizer, HWC; Tyler Wolsterstorff, HWC; Jeremy Zeutenhorst, HWC; Tyler Westphal, LeMars; Matt Dykstra, Sheldon; Dan Johnson, Spencer, Kyle Fitch, Spencer; Andy Pringnitz, Spirit Lake, Jesse Munger, Storm Lake

Second Team

Tyler Jones, Cherokee, Trevor Dettman, Emmetsburg; Kevin Fopma, HWC; Taylor Oetken, LeMars; Matt DeJong, Sheldon; Nolan Goeken, Spencer; Chris Fitzpatrick, Spencer, Tyler Solsma, Spirit Lake, AJ Croker, Storm Lake; Matt Gruhlke, ELC.

ELC Honorable Mention: Marcus Stangl, Kyle Grems

Spirit Lake Honorable Mention: Mason Bergquist, Scott Maudlin.

Coach of the Year: John Walz, Spirit Lake