homepage logo

NW Iowa Spartans win

By Staff | May 8, 2008

The members of the Northwest Iowa Spartans are, front from left, Ryan Stumbo (Laurens), Brett Wollum (Emmetsburg), Zach Lovin (Albert City), Tyler Smith (Albert City); back row: coach Todd Maschino, Chris Fitzpatrick (Spencer), Adam Woodin (Laurens, Caleb Jamison (Laurens), Dylan Sievert (Estherville) and Kyle Grems (Estherville). Photo submitted

The Northwest Iowa Spartans won the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Tournament in Fort Dodge on May 3-4. The Spartans posted a 2-1 record the first day of the tournament which included a 12-point victory over Eastern Iowa Hoops, a loss to IBCA 56-51 and a win over Future Stars Spurs 62-48.

The second day of the tournament the teams were seeded based on the previous day’s play.

The Spartans defeated the Future Star Huskies 56-34.

In the semifinal game the Spartans avenged the loss to IBCA by winning 57-55.

In the championship game, the Spartans defeated previously undefeated Elite Sports 68-64. The Spartans played good team basketball offensively and defensively.