homepage logo

Knights split with Panthers

By Staff | May 30, 2008

GRAETTINGER — The Graettinger/Terril baseball team split with Corwith-Wesley-Luverne in a doubleheader on Wednesday.

The visiting Panthers broke a 2-2 tie in game one with a five-run seventh inning for a 7-2 victory. That game counted towards the Cornbelt Conference record.

The Knights came back in game two with a 14-1 victory behind a one-hit game by pitcher Cody Dyhrkopp.

In game one, CWL jumped out to a 2-0 lead in the first.

The Knights only had two hits in the game, but they used both to tie the game in the bottom of the third inning.

Colin Leiting drew a walk and went to third on a hit by Dyhrkopp. Dyhrkopp stole second base and Drew Skattebo’s double brought in both runs.

G/T starter Taylor Harris went four innings. He struck out four batters and walked four.

Tyler Leiting worked to close out the game. But he gave up two walks to start the seventh. The Panthers loaded the bases and a Knight error allowed two runs to score as the game went downhill from there for G/T.

Leiting took the loss. He also struck out four batters and walked four.

At the plate, Dyhrkopp and Skattebo both went 1-4.

Game two proved a different story.

As the visiting team in second contest, G/T led 2-0 and broke open the game in the sixth.

“We drew some walks and came up with hits,” said G/T coach Jared Cecil.

Dyhrkopp, Skattebo and Dalton Park each had a hit in the inning as the Knights scored six runs.

The Panthers scored their lone run in the bottom of the third, but the Knights scored six more runs in the top of the fourth on only two hits. Both Dyhrkopp and Skattebo had doubles.

Dyhrkopp was 3-3 with a double and three RBIs while Skattebo was 2-4 with a double and four RBIs. Park was 1-1 with two walks and Colin Leiting was 1-2.

G/T (2-2, 0-1) is at Ventura for a doubleheader today.

CWL 200 000 5 – 7 4 0

G/T 002 000 0 – 2 2 2

CWL – Pedersen (WP) and Stewart. G/T – Harris, T. Leiting (LP) and Perrin. 2B – Skattebo.

G/T 116 60 – 14 7 2

CWL 001 00 – 1 1 4

G/T – Dyhrkopp (WP) and Perrin. CWL – Nissan (LP) and Gogollin. 2B – Dyhrkopp, Skattebo.