homepage logo

Estherville team garners medals galore at state

By Staff | Jun 17, 2008

Bruce Dubberke, Duane Frick, Lynda Hart, Dave Carrico and John Bunge pose with Iowa State University’s mascot Cy. Photo submitted

The Estherville Parks and Recreation Special Olympics athletes participated in the Iowa State Summer Games held May 22-24 at the campus of Iowa State University in Ames. The athletes, events, and placing are as follows:


Paul Pritts, tennis singles, gold medal.

Tennis is coached by Diana Pritts.


The soccer team competed against Cedar Rapids, winning 5-3, and also Woodward Resource Center, winning 4-1, which earned the team a gold medal. Team members are Daniel Romero, Gustavo Romero, Tanner Mittrucker, Anselmo Salazar, Brandon Kloehn, Ryan Etherington and Mack Torres.

Soccer is coached by Jo Ellen Shonkwiler.


Team one unified, silver medal. Team members are Dave Carrico, Beth Carrico, Lynda Hart and Duane Frick.

Team two unified, gold medal. Team members are Dr. Keith Probst, Shirley Moffitt, Connor Probst and Ethan Hatland.

Team three, silver medal. Team members are Sandy Porter, Chelsey Moffitt, Kelsey Shirk and Krystal Tendal. Bocce is coached by Paul and Shirley Moffitt.

Track and field

12-15 age division:

Ryan Etherington, gold medal 100-meter dash, 15.06. Silver medal, shotput, 5.66.

16-21 age division:

Krystal Tendal, silver medal, 50-meter walk, 24.30.

Ethan Hatland, gold medal, 100-meter dash, 20.35.

22-29 age division:

Jesse Hatland, silver medal, 100-meter dash, 19.32. Bronze medal, shot put.

30-50 age division:

John Bunge, gold medal, 50-meter walk, 18.80.

Lynda Hart, gold medal, 100-meter walk, 44.76.

Sandy Porter, fourth place, 50-meter walk.

Todd West, gold medal, 100-meter dash, 16.15. Fourth place, softball throw.

Bruce Dubberke, gold medal, softball throw.

4×100-meter relay, silver medal, 1.18. Team members are Ryan Etherington, Jesse Hatland, Todd West and Ryan Foster.

Track and field events are coached by Beth Carrico.

Swimming events

Mack Torres, division M1, silver medal, 100-yard freestyle. Division M3, silver medal, 100-yard backstroke.

Ryan Williams, division M6, gold medal, 100-yard freestyle. Division M09, bronze medal, 25-yard backstroke.

Alex Torres, division 11, silver medal, 50-yard freestyle. Division M14, silver medal, 25-yard freestyle.

Connor Probst, division M07, silver medal, 25-yard freestyle.

4×25-yard mens relay, division M1, silver medal. Team members are Mack Torres, Alex Torres, Ryan Williams, and Connor Probst.

Chelsea Moffitt, division F04, fourth place, 50-yard freestyle. Division F01, silver medal, 50-yard backstroke.

Krystal Prentice, division F12, gold medal, 25-yard freestyle.

Kelsey Shirk, division F05, silver medal, 25-yard backstroke.

4×25-yard relay race, division F3, silver medal. Team members are Chelsea Moffitt, Kelsey Shirk, Kristina Prentice and Desirea Shuder.

Swimming is coached by Paul Moffitt, assisted by Dr. Keith Probst and Steve Williams.

Future events for the Special Olympics will be the annual year-end awards banquet to be held at the Trinity Lutheran Church Tuesday, July 22 at 6 p.m. Parents, athletes, and coaches are asked to bring side dishes of salad or desserts as main course will be taco in a bag. Athletes are reminded to bring your jackets for awards to be served on.

Team pictures will be taken at 5 p.m. with individual pictures taken after if desired. Please be in uniform for pictures.

Athletes will begin golf practice in mid-July. The unified golf tournament will be held Aug. 17 at Riverview Golf Course.

If you would like to be a partner for an athlete please call Paul Moffitt at 362-2008 or Parks and Recreation office at 362-3575.

This will be a nine-hole alternate shot game. Sign up early for a day of fun with our athletes. there will be a free lunch a T-shirts for the event.

There will be adaptive swimming lessons for special needs held at the Riverside Swimming Pool starting July 7-18 at 6 p.m. Registration forms at the Parks and Recreation office.