homepage logo

2008 Cornbelt Conference Baseball

By Staff | Aug 2, 2008

Cornbelt Conference teams that lost to North Sentral Kossuth this season shouldn’t feel too bad-since the Eagles proved they were the best in the state by winning the Class 1A title last Saturday.

The conference coaches recognized the quality of the Eagles’ lineup with five first team selections and three second team nominations.

Teams in the Daily News coverage also had their top players honored.

Armstrong-Ringsted junior Ridge Christiansen earned first team honors as a utility player. Christiansen was the Mustangs’ top pitcher and played the infield when not on the mound.

Teammates Dillion McBride and Tyler Tonderum were selected to the second team. McBride, a senior played the hot corner-third base-while Tonderum, a sophomore was named as a utility selection.

Senior first baseman Logan Anderson earned honorable mention.

From Graettinger/Terril, senior Tyler Leiting and sophomore Cody Dyhrkopp both were named to the second team. Leiting, who pitched, played infield and outfield, was named as a utility player while Dyhrkopp was named a second team outfielder.

Below is the complete list of all-conference players.

Cornbelt Conference

First Team


Nate Brueggeman, HLP

Zach Drees, CCE

Shaun McGuire, NSK


BJ Brugman, CCE

Chris Rock, NSK

First base

James Jenkins, HLP

Second base

Chris Hemphill, HLP


Adam Elbert, CCE

Third Base

Nick Larson, NSK


Jesse Duitsman, HLP

Aaron Siefken, NSK

Charlie Woodall, CCE


Brock Beadle, NSK

Ridge Christiansen, A-R

Ross Jobst, CCE

Kyle Kruger, HLP

Levi Peters, TRV

Jacob Tjaden, WCLT

Levi Trauger, TRV

Second Team

Tyler Enderson, RA

Griffin Hatten, NSK

Kyle Ingwersen, HLP

Scott Phelps, WCLT

Wesley Steward, CWL

Doug Santage, CCE

Carl Jensen, RA

Kyle Pedersen, CWL

Dillion McBride, A-R

Cody Dyhrkopp, GT

Phil Maze, NSK

Garrick Newkirk, CCE

Jacob Berte, TRV

Tyler Leiting, GT

Blake Pedersen, NSK

Andrew Phelps, CCE

Tyler Tonderum, A-R

Honorable Mention

Logan Anderson, A-R

Shae Hemmingsen, RA

Matt Swingen, WCLT