homepage logo

Postseason softball honors released

By Staff | Aug 12, 2008

Several area softball players were honored on the all-state and all-district softball teams.

From Estherville Lincoln Central, senior outfielder Erin Beardsley was named to the Class 3A Third Team All-State team. She batted .375 this season with 27 RBI.

Earning all-state honorable mention were fellow teammates, senior infielder Christa Clayton, senior pitcher Amanda Christensen and senior catcher Kristi Juergens.

Beardsley, Clayton and Christensen also all were named to the Class 3A North All-District Team.

Coach Mindy Brechwald was named District Coach of the Year. The Midgettes finished with a 28-10 record.

From Armstrong-Ringsted, junior pitched Amy Leach was named to the All-State Class 1A Third Team.

Leach posted a 21-4 record with a 0.66 earned run average and 246 strikeouts.

Fellow Mustangs April Gunderson, a senior infielder, and Lisa Pelzer, a senior outfielder, earned all-state honorable mention. Leach and Gunderson both earned all-district honors in Class 1A’s Northwest District.

Other area players earning all-state honorable mention include, from Spirit Lake, infielder Megan Ingvall, sophomore catcher Caila Jones and sophomore pitcher Mary Brown, and from Graettinger/Terril, infielder Theresa Petersen.