homepage logo


Best in the Lakes

By Staff | Nov 21, 2008

Estherville Lincoln Central’s Kelsie McCauley (10) earned second team Lakes all-conference honors while fellow junior Kaylene Vos (9) received honorable mention. EDN file photo

Estherville Lincoln Central and Spirit Lake volleyball players received postseason honors in the Lakes all-conference balloting.

Most impressive though is that the Midgettes earning state all-academic honors with a team grade point average of 3.53.

With 10 seniors on squad, six received academic all-conference honors. They were Maggie Asman, Taylar Jacobson, Macy Milburn, Alex Olesen, Kelsey Shatto and Caitlyn Swisher. To receive academic all-conference honors, players must be a senior, have lettered and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better.

Also, Anna Bruns received honorable mention academic all-conference.

In the al-conference balloting, ELC junior middle hitter Kelsie McCauley earned second team honors.

Senior hitter and defensive specialist Taylor Larson and junior setter Kaylene Vos received honorable mention all-conference.

Spirit Lake honors

Spirit Lake players earning academic all-conference were Andrea Bakker, Ashley Colwell, Sara Hummel, Amber Kirschbaum and Kylie Stoll.

Kirschbaum, a middle hitter, earned first team honors while Stoll, the team libero, earned second team honors.

Outside hitters Colwell and senior Chelsie Stettnichs received honorable mention.

Lakes Conference

First Team All-Conference

*Brittany Landegent, WC, senior

* Kayla Gesink, WC, sophomore

* Liz Ihnen, Sheldon, junior

* Kaylee Thompson, Lemars, senior

Steph Fykstra, WC, senior

Janessa Schutte, WC, senior

Alexis Bart, Sheldon, sophomore

Rachel Ihnen, Sheldon, junior

Emily TeBrink, LeMars, senior

Cassie Meylor, Storm Lake, junior

Kelly Gerdeman, Spencer, senior

Amber Kirschbaum, Spirit Lake, senior

Kelsie Peterson, Cherokee, senior

Second Team

Danae Geels, WC, senior

Kim Elgersma, WC, junior

Becca Fischer, Sheldon, senior

Kellie Goedken, Sheldon, freshman

Ally Mahrt, Spencer, junior

Kirstie Ruhland, LeMars, sophomore

Katie Blum, Storm Lake, junior

Jordan Bauer, Storm Lake, junior

Emily Cook, Cherokee, sophomore

Mollie Smith, Emmetsburg, senior

Kelsie McCauley, Estherville, junior

Kylie Stoll, Spirit Lake, senior

ELC Honorable Mention: Taylor Larson, senior; Kaylene Vos, junior

Spirit Lake Honorable Mention: Ashley Colwell, senior; Chelsie Stettnichs, senior