homepage logo


Never too early to talk football

By Staff | Jul 10, 2009

This page shows the Class 3A Preseason All-State picks. EDN photo by David Swartz

Summer’s not even close to being over, but yet the Iowa High School 2009 Football Yearbook arrived on the sports desk early than usual this year-just last week instead of August.

The annual publication is an in-depth record of what transpired in football the preceding year.

It also includes a schedule of 2009 games, last year’s Iowa Newspaper Association All-State Football Teams, 2008 statistical leaders and 2009 preseason all-state selections.

Estherville Lincoln Central’s Kyle Farmer is one of three area players earning preseason all-state honors.

Farmer, listed at 6-2, 305 pounds, will be a senior leader for the Midgets, who posted a 5-4 record a year ago.

ELC was 3-4 in Class 3A District 1-a district which featured a Bishop Heelan team that rolled over all opponents on the way to a state title.

The rest of the teams beat up on each other with Spencer placing second at 5-2 and Sergeant Bluff-Luton placing third at 4-3. Three other teams besides ELC were 3-4-MOC-Floyd Valley, LeMars and Denison-Schleswig-with Storm Lake finishing 0-7.

Other returning starters listed in the book are tight end Jeremy Hunt, quarterback Alex Arends and safety Jake Lange.


On the other side of Emmet County, Armstrong-Ringsted is coming off its second straight state runner-up finish and its third consecutive state playoff appearance since dropping from Class A to eight-player three years ago.

Mustang running back Tyler Tonderum is a preseason all-state pick for the second consecutive year. The senior running back is listed at 5-10, 180 pounds. Fellow senior and teammate Ethan Jensen also is a preseason pick. The 5-11, 280-pound senior will create a few holes for Tonderum to run through this fall.

Tonderum was the second-best rusher in Class 8-Man with 2,072 yards on 199 carries-an average of 10.4 yards per carry-with 37 touchdowns.

The statistics also show A-R has the top-scoring kicker returning too. Ethan Eisenbacher converted 69 point-after attempts and one field goal for 72 points.

Other listed returning starters are end Craig Tigges, end Travis Hantelman and defensive back Spencer Clausen.

While A-R didn’t win its district last year-rival North Sentral Kossuth won in the regular season-the Mustangs avenged the loss in an 8-man quarterfinal game.

Graettinger/Terril, which posted a 6-4 record (4-3 in district play) and made the playoffs in 2008, lists four returning starters for the 2009 season-quarterback and safety Cody Dyhrkopp, running back Drew Skattebo, defensive end Michael Jensen and cornberback Taylor Harris.

Class 2A

Spirit Lake returns eight starters from a team that went 1-6-tight end Kyle Heidebrink, running back/linebacker Nik Erickson, guard Shae Heinrichs, tackle Adam Dreeszen, tackle JMychal Grau, linebacker Mitch Peschon, linebacker Rick Wilson and safety Brandon Griffen.