homepage logo


ELC players earn postseason honors

By Staff | Nov 10, 2009

Estherville Lincoln Central’s Jeremy Hunt and Kyle Farmer earned the Estherville Daily News Awards for the 2009 football season. Hunt received the award for defense and Farmer for offense. EDN photo by David Swartz

The Estherville Lincoln Central football team held its annual banquet after a 2-7 campaign with a 1-5 record in Class 3A District 1.

Estherville Daily News Managing Editor David Swartz presented the newspaper’s awards for offense and defense.

Kyle Farmer, a 6-2, 287-pound lineman, received the offense award while Jeremy Hunt, a 6-1, 205-pound linebacker received the award for defense.

Farmer, a preseason all-state pick, anchored the Midgets line as a guard and was a team captain.

Hunt, also a team captain, led the Midgets in tackles with 142.

All-district awards

Both Farmer and Hunt were along with Jake Lange earned Class 3A District 1All-District honors.

Farmer was the lone ELC selection on offense.

Hunt was selected as a linebacker and Lang as a defensive back.

Along with his 142 tackles, Hunt also had a fumble recover an interception and one sack.

Lange had 72 tackles on the season along with two sacks and a fumble recovery.

Adam Arends and Ryan Vos both earned honorable mention all-district.

Arends carried the ball 104 times for 480 yards and seven touchdowns. He also completed 68-of-144 passes for 988 yards and five touchdowns. He also was the team’s punter, kicking the ball 41 times for 1,229 yards, an average of 30 yards per punt.

Vos had 74 tackles including four sacks for a net loss of 23 yards. He also had a fumble recovery.

Academic All-District

Eight ELC senior players earned Academic All-district honors-Alex Arends, Cody Baker, Caleb Baruth, Matt Brown, Daniel Gabbard, Spencer Johnson, Dan Jones and Jacob Perkins. Cody Prather earned honorable mention academic all-district.