homepage logo


A-R, G-T players earn Cornbelt honors

By Staff | May 4, 2010

SPRING VALLEY – While Graettinger-Terril and Armstrong-Ringsted each had several players earn all-conference honors, both were in the middle of the pack at the Cornbelt Conference meet on Monday.

The Mustangs finished fourth overall with a 378, led by first-team all-conference players Ethan Eisenbacher and Dylan Looft.

The Knights took fifth with a 388 led by Blaze Alesch, Ryan Schany and Cody Dyhrkopp..

North Sentral Kossuth won the conference meet with a 352 followed by West Bend-Mallard with 357 and Harris-Lake Park with 376.

Woden-Crystal Lake-Titonka was sixth with 401 followed by Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne with 403, Clay Central-Everly with 418, Ruthven-Ayrshire with 44 and Ventura with 452. Twin River Valley didn’t have a complete team.

NSK’s Sawyer Dooey was medalist with an 80.

Eisenbacher and Looft finished eighth and ninth overall with Eisenbacher shooting a 90 and Looft a 92. Ethan Jensen earned second-team all-conference with a 96 while Spencer Clausen rounded out the scoring and made the third team with a 100.

Non-counting scores were a 103 from Keith Mathine a 135 by David Leach.

For the Knights, Alesch tied for 10th overall with a 93 while Ryan Schany was a stroke behind with a 94 and Dyhrkopp carded a 96. All three made the second team.

The Knights’ Mitch Girres completed the scoring with a 105.

“Spring Valley is a tough course to play on a wind day,” said G-T coach Brent Dyhrkopp. “The guys were a little disappointed in their scores, but we need to give some credit to the teams who finished ahead of us for being more consistent.

Non-counting scores were a pair of 112s from Zach Harris and Quinn Parker.