homepage logo


Indians race past Lakes Conference competitors

By Staff | May 13, 2010

LEMARS – With 11 All-Conference selections, the Spirit Lake Park boys track team led a three-team race for Lakes Conference glory in LeMars on Tuesday.

The Indians took first place in eight events and second place in three to beat out Storm Lake and LeMars with 142 total points, earning the right to be named 2010 Lakes Conference Champions.

SLP senior Kyle Heidebrink leapt past the competition – both literally and figuratively – earning first place finishes in the 400- and 110-meter hurdles with times of 56.06 and 15.06 seconds respectively. Heidebrink also took first place in the long jump with a leap of 20 feet and joined Aric Waltz, DJ Smith and Rick Wilson in the shuttle hurdle relay team that took first in 1 minute, .20 seconds – a school record time.

Luke Kabele took first in the 200-meter dash and joined Waltz, Kevin Martinson and Kayne Feldick in the 4×400-meter relay team that took first in 3:30.62.

Keith Byers took first in the 3200-meter run in 10:07.70 and Alec Baldwin placed first in the 1600-meter run in 4:40.92.

Baldwin also took second in the 800-meter run in 2:05.05.

Waltz, Martinson, Feldick and Cody Poock took second in the medley relay in 4:47.41 and Will Norris placed second in the 3200-meter run behind Byers with a time of 10:12.04.

Storm Lake placed second with 127 points.

They were followed by LeMars with 92, Spencer 68, Western Christian 59, Estherville Lincoln Central 26, Emmetsburg 21 and Cherokee 20.