homepage logo

Doocy wins Cornbelt for second straight year

By Staff | May 3, 2011

GRAETTINGER – Both Armstrong-Ringsted/North Sentral Kossuth and Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire stepped up their play at the Cornbelt Conference Boys Golf Meet on Monday.

AR/NSK’s Sawyer Doocy won the individual conference medalist title for the second straight year. The sophomore shot a 72 to win by six strokes over runner-up medalist Ryan Banwart of West Bend-Mallard.

“I’m very proud of Sawyer,” said coach NSKAR Brooks Walter. “I’m a little surprised at the team results with our young team.”

ARNSK finished second behind West Bend-Mallard. The Wolverines won with a 359 while ARNSK shot a 367. GT/RA was a stroke behind with a 368 while Harris-Lake Park finished fourth with a 369.

GT/RA’s Blaze Alesch and Dylan Smith both shot well, an 85 and an 89, respectively, to earn first-team all-conference honors.

“This was our best team effort of the year,” said GT/RA coach Brent Dyhrkopp. “We are improving with each meet.”

Rounding out GT/RA’s efforts were a 95 from Zach Harris and Ethan Petersen with a 99. Harris made second team all-conference while Petersen made third team.

AR/NSK’s Keith Mathine shot a 94 to earn second team honors while Cody Runksmeier shot a 98 to earn third team. Their final counting score was a 103 by 103 by Alex Deitering.

AR/NSK’s non-counting scores were a 109 from heath Bernhard and a 112 by Zack Hurlburt.

GT/RA’s non-counting scores were a 101 by Tanner Naig and a 102 by Ty Gibson.