homepage logo


Midgets finish sixth at Spencer Tournament

By Staff | Dec 27, 2013

SPENCER – Without one of its top wrestlers in the lineup, Esthervile Lincoln Central finished sixth at the Spencer Tournament on Saturday.

The Midgets were without the services of Oscar Ramirez, ranked second at 138 pounds in Class 2A.

ELC’s top finish for the day came from senior Blake Gjerde, who placed second at 152 pounds.

Gjerde’s first win was a pin against Lawton-Bronson’s Wyatt Brinkg in 2:26. He then won 3-1 against Humboldt’s Thaylan Bowman. But in the finals, Sergeant Bluff Luton’s Bret Tomoson caught Gjerde and won by fall in 3:13.

Jake Bortvit came up with a third-place finish. After losing his first match 3-2 to Central Lyon/George-Little Rock’s Alex Waagmeester, Bortvit battled back threw the consolation bracket with four pins. First he beat West Lyon’s Cole Jachim in 3:28, then had a 3-second pin against Sergeant-Bluff-Luton’s Jack Demoss. He then pinned Spencer’s Hunter Hurst in 1:49. He met up with Waagmeester in the third-place match where he pinned his opponent in 3:25.

Seven ELC wrestlers were in fifth-place matches and the Midgets won five of those.

Zackary Snyder (106) pined Sioux Center’s Josahus Rathbun in 3:12. Joel McCoy (113) won by technical fall, 15-0 over Sioux Center’s Alejandro Vera. Cole Budach (132) pinned Humboldt’s Jaden Kampen in 1:16. Kelly Clabaugh won 4-3 over Humbold’ts Gus Arnold. Snyder won a 12-7 decision over CL/GLR’s Zach Fugitt.

Placing sixth were Easton Gkifford (120) and Thomas Bortvit (138).

Chase Bonner had a tough day and finished seventh. He met Class 1A N. 7 Travis VanderStreek from Central Lyon/George-Little Rock in the quarterfinal round and lost by fall in 5:27. He then lost in the consolation bracket by fall to Rock Valley/Boyden-Hull’s Reed Solberg in 40 seconds before pinning Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s Gage DeMoss in 2:@5 in the seventh-place match.

Austin Egeland (195) also placed seventh on the day while Dalton Christoffer (145) placed eighth.

Team results

1, Humboldt 214; 2, Sergeant Bluff-Luton 200.5; 3, Spencer 185; 4, Rock Valley/Boyden-Hull 185; 5, Sibley-Ocheyedan 104; 6, ELC 99.5; 7, Sioux Center 98; 8, Spirit Lake Park 94; 9, central Lyon/George-Little Rock 82; 10, Lawton Bronson 82; 11, West Lyon 21

Skopec, Jenness win at Spencer

SPENCER – Spirit Lake Parks’ Zach Skopec remains perfect on the season after winning the 145-pound bracket at the Spencer Tournament last Saturday.

He and Jacob Jenness (195) both placed first while David Trucksess (160) placed second.

Skopec (18-0) pinned his first two opponents, beating West Lyon’s Jayd Payne in 1:51 and Rock Valley-Boyden-Hull’s Zach Konz in 48 seconds. In the championship match, he edged Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s Steven Garcia (19-2), 3-1.

Jenness started his day by pinning Spencer’s Ben Pingel in 58 seconds and then winning 4-0 over RV/BH’s Josh Van Ginkel 4-0 in the semifinal. In the finals, he again had a close match, edging Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s Taylor Christensen 10-8.

Trucksess also had a pair of pins in his first two matches, beating Humboldt’s Gus Arnold in 50 seconds and Estherville Lincoln Central’s Kelly Clabaugh in 54 seconds.

In the finals, Trucksess faced Sioux Center senior Dylon Van’t Hof, ranked seventh at 152 pounds. Van’t Hoff came up a point short of a major decision with a 7-0 win over Trucksess.

SLP’s next best finish was a fourth-place from John O’Neal at 113 pounds. Gavin Kramer finished fifth at 120 pounds while Alec Harrington (126) and Daniel Trucksess (132) both placed seventh.

Javier Tapia placed eighth and Cody Wernimont (220) and Hunter Akers (285) both did not place.

GTRA?places third at West Hancock

BRITT – Ty Gibson (138), Tyler Hoffman (152) and Cody Thompson (285) all won their brackets to help Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire to a third place finish at the Al Deleon Invitational hosted by West Hancock in Britt last Saturday.

Central Springs took home the team title with 259 points while Sumner-Fredricksburg had 217 and GTRA had 201 points.

Gibson, the seventh-rated wrestler in Class 1A, pinned his first three opponents, defeating AGWSR’s Lucas Schumacher in 54 seconds, West Hancock’s Dakota Peterson in 1:36 and Okoboji’s Ryan Bolster in 3:11. In the finals, Gibson edged Central Springs’ Dylan Mueller 6-4.

Hoffman started his day with a pin over Okoboji’s Noah Fritch in 1:18 and then won 8-3 over Central Springs’ Levi Nettleton before pinning West Hancock’s Jordan Weiland in 2:41 in the finals.

Thompson, ranked fifth in Class 1A, pinned all three of his opponents in the first period at heavyweight. He beat AGWSR’s Michael Young in 19 seconds, Central Springs Tommy Dalton in 49 seconds and West Hancock’s Abe Guido in 21 seconds.

The Titans had no second-place finishes, but Tyler Hauge (145) and Kyle Long both placed third.

Hauge beat AGWSR’s Josh June by fall in 4:16, but then lost by fall to Okoboji’s Noah Bouse in 3:48. He then defeated Central Springs Hunter Veech in 3:15, lost to Sumner-Fredericksburg’s Isiah Brandt in 1:10 and defeated West Hancock’s Sam Smith in 3:52.

Long went 1-2 on the day with a pin over Okoboji’s Cole Millard in 1:50. Cody Marlow (106), Beau Schany (126), Alex Hoffman (132, Hunter Brown (160), and Kodi Fergeson (182), all placed fourth. Keeven Long (113) and Nate Harris (195) both placed fifth.

Jordan Thompson (120) lost his first match and injury defaulted the remainder of his matches.

GTRA hosts its tournament on Saturday, Jan. 11.