homepage logo


Titans place fourth in Twin Lakes

By Staff | Jan 24, 2014

ROCKWELL CITY – Alex Hoffman (132), Ty Gibson (138) and Cody Thompson (285) all won individual conference titles to help Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire place fourth overall at the Twin Lakes Conference Tournament on Saturday.

South Central Calhoun took the team title with 244 points followed by Manson-Northwest Webster with 194.5, Pocahontas Area with 162, GTRA with 151.5, Alta-Aurelia with 13, Prairie Valley with 85, Southeast Webster-Grand with 49.5, West Bend-Mallard with 45, Laurens-Marathon/Sioux Central with 39.5 and East Sac County with 15.

Hoffman received a first-round bye and then pinned SCC’s Ashten Halvorsen in 1:21 to reach the finals. There, he won 7-3 over MNW’s Kaleb Simacek.

Gibson, ranked seventh in Class 1A, pinned his way to a title. He beat Lm’s Chase Wells in 53 seconds, WB-M’s Travis Fehr in 1:32, MNW’s Dylan Samuelson in 1:59 and Prairie Valley’s Logan Klingson in 46 seconds.

Thompson also started the day with a bye and then pinned Alta-Aurelia’s Neal Felton in 1:36. He needed overtime to defeat MNW’s Tim Butcher 3-1.

Matt McGrauth (170) earned the only second-place finish for the Titans. He won by technical fall, 16-1, over Prairie Valley’s Zeke Miller and then pinned Alta-Aurelia’s Manny Murillo in 5:48 to reach the finals. There, he lost by fall in 1:35 to sixth-ranked Tyler Kutz of South Central Calhoun.

Cody Marrlow (106), Beau Schany (126), Boston Swan (145) and Kodi Feguson (182), all finished fourth.

Keeven Long (113) and Kyle Long (220) both placed fifth. Hunter Brown (160) placed sixth. Nate Harris (195) did not place.