homepage logo


Area wrestlers earn trip to state

By Staff | Feb 15, 2014

Seven area wrestlers qualified for the state tournament during their respective district meets on Saturday.

At the Class 2A Sectional in Sheldon, Estherville Lincoln Central had two champions and two runnersup who will make the trip to Des Moines.

Senior Oscar Ramirez (132 pounds) and junior Chase Bonner (220) both won their matches easily to earn a district title.

At 106 pounds, freshman Zachary Snyder avenged a loss a sectional as he won a wrestleback to place second.

The highlight of the day came at 152 pounds as senior Blake Gjerde took on Spirit Lake Park’s Kenten Murray. The two had faced off three previous times during the season, including last week at sectionals. This time, Gjerde came up with a 3-2 win in the wrestleback to advance to state.

Other ELC results from the district meet – senior Jake Bortvit (182) placed third and Juan Castro (113), Myles McDonald (126) and Brendan Duer (138) each placed fourth.

For Spirit Lake Park, Zach Skopec won a district championship to return to state. He is undefeated this season at 45-0.

Teammate David Trucksess earned a trip to state by winning a wrestleback.

At Sibley, Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire’s Cody Thompson(285) won a wrestleback to finish second and advance to state.

Teammate Ty Gibson (138) was injured in his wrestleback and was unable to complete the match.

Watch for more wrestling results online and in Saturday’s Estherville News print edition.