homepage logo


SL-O teams split meets with Spencer

By Staff | May 16, 2014

Spencer gave the Spirit Lake-Okoboji girls some difficult matches, but the Lakes Conference champs still came out 8-1 on Tuesday.

In singles play, Olivia Rohlk won 10-3 over Kate Wilkerson; Natalie Delaney won 10-4 over Piper Swanson; Ryan Petievich won 10-4 over Tiffany Lovan; Hanna Schoning won 10-0 over Jenna Nissen; Anna Vos lost 10-6 to Kelsey Staples and Rebecca Owens won 10-8 over Kayla Shanks.

In doubles, Rohlk and Delaney won 10-1 over Wilkerson and Shanks; Schoning and Petievich won 10-5 over Swanson and Nissen and Vos and Johnson won 10-4 over Lovan and Staples.

SL-O shows improvement

The Spirit Lake-Okoboji boys showed their improvement at the net despite losing to Lakes Conference Tournament champion Spencer 8-1 on Tuesday.

Coach Dan Taylor said the scores were much closer than the two teams’ first meeting at the start of the season.

Will Fuelberth earned the only win at the No. 4 singles, defeating Jack O’Hara 6-4, 4-6, (10-5).

In other singles play, Michael O’Brien lost 7-5, 6-1 to Alex Kaldahl; Ryley Smith lost 6-1, 3-2 (ret.) to Brady Plueger; Hunter Andreason lost 6-4, 6-7(5), (10-5) to Edoardo Tavani; Jason Thorn lost 6-1, 6-0 to Joe Sherbon and Tully Reed lost 6-1, 6-1 to Robert Stocco.

In doubles, O’Brien and Smith lost 6-4, 6-1 to Plueger and Tavani; Andreason and Reed lost 6-3, 6-2 to O’Hara and Sherbon and Fuelberth and Thorn lost 6-4, 6-2 to Stocco and Daniel Castillo.