homepage logo


ELC girls place sixth at Lakes meet

By Staff | Oct 12, 2016

LE MARS – The 2016 Lakes Conference Girls Cross Country race proved much tougher than a year ago at Tuesday’s meet in Le Mars.

While Spirit Lake’s Kourtney Delperdang still ran way ahead of the crowd, the battle for the next 13 all-conference spots was much tougher.

In 2015, the 14th-place runner in the Lakes Conference finished in 22 minutes, 34.82 seconds to earn all-conference.

The 14th-place runner in 2016 finished in 21:25.17-over a minute faster.

That being said, Estherville Lincoln Central didn’t have anyone crack into the Top 14.

Riley Christoffer led ELC with a 23rd-place finish in 22:17 while Karley Hanson placed 25th in 22:24.99 and Taylor Morris placed 30th in 22:56.93.

“On the girls end, all-conference honors weren’t in the cards, but each of the ladies I felt like pushed their hardest,” said ELC coach Tina Burton. “I saw each one of them pass someone in front and move themselves closer towards the top.”

ELC finished sixth overall with Laura Humble placing 35th in 23:31.45 and Kylie Quastad placing 40th in 24:04.76.

Also for ELC, Bailey Spiegeler placed 42nd in 24:14.54 and Melissa Gruwell placed 44th in 24:18.13.

ELC travels to the Class 2A state fualifying meet hosted by United Christian at the Landsmeer Golf Club in Orange City next Thursday, Oct. 20.

In the junior varsity race, Vanessa Vedder led the Midgets as she placed 22nd in 25:37.14 while Maggie Rezac placed 25th in26:02.59, Erika Olson placed 33rd in 26:37.87 and Madison Burton placed 36th in 26:41.53.

2016 Lakes Conference Meet

Girls Varsity Team Scores

1, Spencer 36; 2, Le Mars 52; 3, Emmetsburg 65; 4, Spirit Lake 104; 5, Western Christian 108; 6, ELC 153; 7, Cherokee 216; 8, Storm Lake 218

Girls All-Conference performers

1, Kourtney Delperdang, Spirit Lake 19:36.25; 2, Morgan Roberts, Spencer 20:10.69; 3; Elisa Fisher, Spencer 20:28.60; 4, Chloe Calhoun, Le Mars 20:40.96; 5, Whitney Minderhoud, WC, 20:46.12; 6, Raven Brown, E’burg 20:46.75; 7, Kara Albrecht, Le Mars 20:50.44; 8, Madeline Hurt, Le Mars 20:58.37; 9, Grace Hamilton, Spencer 21:07.53; 10, Jenna Dirks, Spencer 21:13.03; 11, Gabrielle Janssen, E’burg 21:16.98; 12, Abby Weeks, Spencer 21:18.05; 13, Mary Kate Postma, WC 21:22.37; 14, Ashley Overberg 21:25.17