homepage logo


ELC Midgets share 2020 Lakes title

By Staff | Jul 22, 2020

Seven Estherville Lincoln Central softball players received honors on the 2020 Lakes Conference All-Conference list for their play this year.

The Midgets shared the conference championship with Spirit Lake, as both teams finished 4-1. Only the first round of conference games counted toward the conference record.

Four ELC players earned first team honors. ELC eighth grade pitcher Tatum Dunlavy was one of five conference players to earn unanimous selection to the first team. The others were Spirit Lake catcher Karli Olsen, Spirit Lake outfielder CJ Ahrenstorff, Storm Lake outfielder Holly Dierenfield, and Spencer outfielder Allison Piercy.

Varsity bound stats included all games ELC played against conference foes in its conference statistics.

Dunlavy struck out 45 batters, walked 25 and had a 1.47 earned run average in league play.

Other ELC players named to the first team were seniors Lena McCoy and Jadynn Moore, both as infielders, and Jaydan Nitchals was selected to the first team as a utility player.

McCoy and Nitchals each batted .526 in league play with 10 hits each while Moore batted .478 with nine hits.

ELC junior catcher Kendyl Ruschy earned second team all-conference honors. She batted .286 in league play.

Junior Amara Heinrichs and sophomore Gabrielle Paul both received honorable mention.

2020 Lakes Conference

All-Conference Softball

First Team


Tatum Dunlavy – ELC *

Skylar Cole – Storm Lake


Karli Olsen- Spirit Lake *


CJ Ahrenstorff- Spirit Lake *

Holly Dierenfield – Storm Lake *

Allison Piercy- Spencer *


Elli Carney- Spirit Lake

Lena McCoy- ELC

Jadynn Moore- ELC

Tori Wynja- Western Christian


Jaydan Nitchals- ELC

Jada Piercy- Spencer

Jadyn Faber Western Christian

*indicates unanimous vote

Second Team


Emily English- Spencer


Kendyl Ruschy- ELC

Josie Hernandez- Storm Lake


Stella Donkersloot- Spirit Lake

Jera Merchant- Western Christian

Taylor Christensen- Cherokee


Izzy Backhaus- Spirit Lake

Mallorie Jacobson- Storm Lake

Olivia Huckfeldt- Spencer

Hannah Jansma- Western Christian


Emma Jenness – Spirit Lake

Dena Claycamp- Cherokee

Honorable Mention:

Spirit Lake- Taylor Schneider & Irish Knutson

ELC-Amara Heinrichs & Gabrielle Paul

Storm Lake- Mia Kleespies

Western Christian- Josie Zeutenhorst & Claire Bleeker

Spencer- Matayah Lowe

Cherokee- Natalie Harman & Sarah Mesler

2020 Lakes Conference

Softball Standings


Spirit Lake4-113-4


Storm Lake3-210-11

Western Christian2-39-8