homepage logo


Eight Warriors earn TIC West honors for 2020

By Staff | Jul 27, 2020

Placing second in the Top of Iowa West Conference this season, the North Union Softball Team placed eight players on the all-conference teams for 2020.

Two teams in the league-Belmond-Klemme and Eagle Grove-elected not to play softball during the pandemic, so Bishop Garrigan won the conference title with a 6-0 record while North Union finished 5-1.

Warriors named to the first team were senior Hope Steinberger, sophomore Sam Nielsen, and freshmen Emily Meyer and Olivia Von Bank. Senior Kaylee Tirevold, junior Vanessa Von Bank, and sophomore Cassie Beadle earned second team honors while Maggie Engelby earned honorable mention.

Olivia VonBank batted .737 in six conference games with 14 hits and 12 RBIs. Nielsen batted .654 with nine hits and three RBIs while Steinberger batted .632 with 12 hits and seven RBIS.

Meyer posted a 5-1 record in league games with a 1.56 earned run average. She struck out 32 and walked 12 batters while giving up 16 hits in the six league games.

Tirevold batted .357 in league play while Vanessa Von Bank batted .429 and Beadle batted .357. Engelby batted .385 in league play.

2020 Top of Iowa West

Softball Standings


Bishop Garrigan6-012-7

North Union5-112-5

Forest city4-25-9


Lake Mills2-42-12

North Iowa1-52-9

West Hancock0-60-11

2020 Top of Iowa West All-Conference Softball


Emma Fogarty Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Mackenzie Meister Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Madison Meister Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Amanda Miller Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Emma Anderson Forest City 08

Maddie Graham Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Jr.

Jessa Gasteiger Lake Mills Sr.

Emily Meyer North Union Fr.

Sam Nielsen North Union So.

Hope Steinberger North Union Sr.

Olivia Von Bank North Union Fr.

Ann Horstman West Hancock Jr.


Aubree Altman Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Ashlyn Hovey Bishop Garrigan Fr.

Bailey Meister Bishop Garrigan Jr.

Hannah Anderson Forest City Jr.

Kennedy Klein Forest City Sr.

Keevan Jones Forest City So.

Hope Levine Lake Mills Sr.

Mackenzy Jensvold North Iowa Sr.

Cassie Beadle North Union So.

Kaylee Tirevold North Union Sr.

Vanessa Von Bank North Union Jr.

Kamryn Eckels West Hancock Fr.


Gracie Elsbecker Bishop Garrigan Jr.

Erin Caylor Forest City Sr.

Kaitlyn Robinson Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Sr.

Madison Edwards Lake Mills Fr.

Hannah Main North Iowa Sr.

Maggie Engelby North Union So.

Carlee Bruns West Hancock Jr.

Player of the Year: Madison Meister, Bishop Garrigan

Coach of the Year: Wendi Meister, Bishop Garrigan