homepage logo


Three Warriors earn second team honors

By Staff | Jul 27, 2020

Four North Union baseball players earned Top of Iowa West Conference honors for their play this season. The Warriors finished 1-5 in league play, with Eagle Grove and Belmond-Klemme both choosing not to play during the pandemic.

While North Union didn’t have any players on the first team, three Warriors earned second team honors in seniors Noah Morphew and Braden Pierce along with sophomore Jay Heinen. Senior Brendan Anderson received honorable mention.

In six league games, Heinen batted .312 to lead North Union. Morphew batted. 300 while Pierce batted .294. Pierce also earned a pitching victory in league play and finished with a 1-2 record.

2020 Top of Iowa West

Baseball Standings


Lake Mills6-08-7


Forest City4-28-9

West Hancock2-44-7

Bishop Garrigan2-44-11

North Iowa2-43-10

North Union1-51-10

2020 Top of Iowa West All-Conference Baseball


Andrew Arndorfer Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Derek Froendt Forest City Sr.

Brock Moore Forest City Jr.

Kellen Moore Forest City Fr.

Reece Moore Forest City So.

Brody Boehnke Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Jr.

Landon Dalbeck Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Sr.

Dalton Graff Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Sr.

Brady Hanson Lake Mills Fr.

Casey Hanson Lake Mills Jr.

Kade Hobbs North Iowa Jr.

Braden Walk West Hancock So.


Colby Graves Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Joe Meis Bishop Garrigan Jr.

Truman Knudtson Forest City So.

Jack Ermer Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Jr.

Jared Shaw Garner-Hayfield-Ventura Sr.

Mason Fritz Lake Mills Sr.

Chett Helming Lake Mills Sr.

Max Schaefer North Iowa Jr.

Jay Heinen North Union So.

Noah Morphew North Union Sr.

Braden Pierce North Union Sr.

Cayson Barnes West Hancock Jr.

Cole Wood West Hancock Sr.


Marcus Plathe Bishop Garrigan Sr.

Kagen Benton Forest City Sr.

Rafe Van Dusseldorp Garner-Hayfield-Ventura So.

Jackson Rice Lake Mills Sr.

Cedric Frerichs North Iowa Sr.

Brendan Anderson North Union Sr.

Tate Hagen West Hancock Sr.

Player of the Year: Casey Hanson, Lake Mills

Coach of the Year: Chris Throne, Lake Mills