homepage logo


Top 10 for top freshmen Duitsman fourth, Anderson ninth

By Staff | Sep 6, 2020

MILFORD – Estherville Lincoln Central’s top two freshmen runners stepped up for the second straight meet, as both placed in the Top 10 in their respective races at the Okoboji Invitational on Thursday.

Parker Duitsman earned his first Top 5 finish in the boys’ race, finishing fourth in 18 minutes, 5 seconds while Jaselyn Anderson placed ninth in the girls’ race with a time of 21:35.

“Overall it was a great effort for an early meet in September-great weather and challenging courses,” said ELC coach Jesse Nitchals. “It was more difficult for the runners with challenging hills. Times may not reflect the same from Tuesday at Brooks Course but the effort and competition was there.”

In the team standings, the ELC girls finished eighth overall while the boys placed 10th

“I’m proud of the whole team and where we are heading,” said Nitchals.

Rounding out the girls results for ELC, Emerson Blair placed 43rd in 24:15, Allison Young placed 53rd in 24:46.32, Katelyn Myers placed 66th in 26:24.54, and Ava Matheson and Maggie Domek tied for placed 67th in 26:24.56.

In the boys’ race, Kaleb Young placed 35th in 19:35.25, Will Martin placed 72nd in 22:19.48, Jacob Knudson placed 73rd in 22:27, and Gary Gardner placed 79th in 23:11.70.

ELC will host the Estherville Invitational Tuesday, Sept. 8, at the Estherville Golf Course.

In junior varsity competition, Lilly Anderson placed 53rd in 38:20.62 in the girls’ race. In the boys’ race, Caleb Lausen placed 78th in 26:56.46, Isaac Reineke placed 81st in 27:31.10, Matthew Valen placed 90th in 32:45.25 and Eli Ross placed 91st in 36:03.87.

2020 Okoboji Invitational

Team Scores

Girls Varsity: Sibley-Ocheyedan 66, Cherokee 75, Okoboji 90, George-Little Rock-Central Lyon 115, Sioux Center 119, West Lyon 151, Emmetsburg 192, ELC 222, Sioux Central 224, South O’Brien 225, West Bend-Mallard 274, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 315, Odebolt-Arthur-Battle Creek-Ida Grove 324

Boys Varsity: Sioux Center 68, Okoboji 87, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn-Remsen-Union 88, George-Little Rock-Central Lyon 111, Sioux Central 135, Cherokee 145, North Union 192, Odebolt-Arthur-Battle Creek-Ida Grove 228, Emmetsburg 228, ELC 236, Sibley-Ocheyedan 251, Trinity Christian 253, South O’Brien 303.