homepage logo


ELC well-represented on All District Team

11 Midgets make first team; 4 honorable mention

By David Swartz - Managing Editor | Nov 4, 2020

With both Estherville Lincoln Central and Spirit Lake losing last weekend, that ends the season for all Class 2A District 2 teams. That means the all-district teams are now available for publication.

As runner-up to the Indians this season and with a 3-1 district record, the Midgets were well-represented on the all-district lists plus four players earned honorable mention.

ELC placed 11 players on the all-district teams. Also ELC coach Ryan Rezac was named District Head Coach of the Year while Matt Christensen earned the District Defensive MVP award.

Eleven Midgets also earned Academic All-District honors.

On the all-district team are quarterback Ryan Schiltz, offensive linemen Griffin Hoyer and Brody Waddell, wide receivers Matt Christensen and Daryl Jensen, utility player Lamont Whiting, defensive lineman Zavion McMurran, linebackers Garrett Paulson, Zack Anderson and Nick Leonard, and defensive back Kevin Egeland.

Earning honorable mention were Nick Lyman, Arron Nissen, Braeden Lehmkuhl and Seth Busch

Academic All-District honors were earned by Alex Jensen, Garrett Paulson, Daryl Jensen, Ryan Schiltz, Jack Jensen, Eli Hanson, Blake Ingvall, Logan Nissen, Zavion McMurran, braeden Lehmkuhl, and Alex Sheridan.

The Midgets finished with a 7-2 record overall. Their losses were a double-overtime loss to Spirit Lake in district play and a season-ending loss to second-ranked Central Lyon/George-Little Rock in the third round of the playoffs.

Five of elc’s six seniors earned all-district honors in Waddell, christensen, Paulson, Leonard, and Egeland.

Class 2A District 2

All District Team


Brent Scott – SPL

Ryan Schiltz – ELC

Tyler Mankse – ALG

Running Back

Joe Pringnitz – GHV

Dilion Fine – SPL

Isaac Knutsen – GHV

Offensive Line

Justin Vaughn – Okoboji

Rafe Van Dusseldorp – GHV

Noah Kleier, ALG

Griffin Hoyer – ELC

Brody Waddell – EL

Max Carney – SPL

Jacob Brown – SPL

Jaxon Woodyard – ALG

Wide Receiver/Tight End

Matt Christensen – ELC

Daryl Jensen – ELC

Vance Katzfey – SPL

Trevon Smith-ALG

James Wartick-ALG


Noah Nelson -ALG

Riley Reynolds – SPL

Lamont Whiting – ELC

Ben Furst – GHV

Brayden Robards – OKO

Dawson Goecke – OKO

Sam Mayer – SPL

Defensive Line

Keegan Bradley – SPL

Landon Miner – SPL

Zavion McMurran – ELC

Evan Sloan – GHV

Wyatt Garman – ALG

Cody Wintz – OKO


Zach Jensen -SPL

Garrett Paulson – ELC

Zack Anderson – ELC

Nick Leonard – ELC

Brockway Gouge – GHV

Cole Whitting – SPL

Miles Goche – ALG

Aaron Weringa – ALG

Logan Heller – OKO

Defensive Back

Carver JungJohan – SPL

Kevin Egeland – ELC

Luke Carter – ALG

Kevin Meyers – GHV

Jaden Heller – OKO


Mason Carver – Cherokee

Offensive MVP: Brent Scott – SPL

Defensive MVP: Matt Christensen – ELC

Lineman MVP: Evan Sloan – GHV

Head Coach of the Year: Ryan Rezac – ELC

Assistant Coach of the Year: Ryan King – ALG

ELC Honorable Mention

Nick Lyman

Arron Nissen

Braeden Lehmkuhl

Seth Busch

ELC Academic All District

Alex Jensen

Garrett Paulson

Daryl Jensen

Ryan Schiltz

Jack Jensen

Eli Hanson

Blake Ingvall

Logan Nissen

Zavion McMurran

Braeden Lehmkuhl

Alex Sheridan